Weekly Update Shame, Nick Cave, Psymon Spine (Dinked), Luke Abbott.

Label Watch (Hyperdub), Cabaret Voltaire, The War On Drugs, King Gizzard, Autechre, King Hannah, The Cribs, Damaged Bug, Paisiel, Romeo Poirier, PVA, The Specials, Chubby & the Gang, Dirty Projectors, Josephine Foster.


  • Album of the Week. Luke Abbott’s latest of widescreen IDM & ambient techno takes this week’s top spot.
  • There’s a new Dinked on the cards from psychedelic pop newcomers Psymon Spine, delivering the only special edition outside of America. Fans of Pond, Neon Indian, Morgan Delt & Porches may dig this one.
  • London post-punks Shame return with a follow-up to their acclaimed debut. The limited-edition, indies only variant includes a signed insert.
  • We looked into the ground-breaking electronic label Hyperdub in our latest Label Watch feature.
  • Weekly Playlist.  Make your way to Spotify & YouTube for the staff-selected audio picks.

New music

  • Nick Cave’s haunting solo performance at Ally Pally is here.
  • The War on Drugs really took a lot of time here to bring you a fantastic live LP. Reminder that there’s a test pressing up for grabs for one winner who buys either LP variant before midnight.
  • Yorkshire psych label Cardinal Fuzz deliver the goods once more with a trio of releases from The Janitors, The Left Outsides & Tambourinen.
  • Psych-kraut guitarist Bhajan Bhoy pays homage to Robbie Basho on this limited EP.
  • Liverpool duo King Hannah take a page out of Les McQueen’s book with a song called ‘Crème Brûlée’.
  • Very snazzily put together live album from garage-psych mutants King Gizzard.
  • There’s a right old mix of styles on show from forward-thinking indie lot Dirty Projectors on their compilation of five recent EPs.
  • Yorkshire indie lot The Cribs return with a record assisted by Dave Grohl & Lee Ranaldo.
  • Astralasia straddle the line between psych & electronic on this 6CD set.
  • Play along to Jennifer Castle’s latest with sheet music to every song included.
  • Tourists. Torquay dark dream poppers unleash their debut of moody psych & post-punk.
  • Rocket get in on some more jazz with the krautrock & psych influenced tones of Paisiel.
  • Hyped trio PVA’s latest Dan Carey produced EP gets loaded up with remixes.
  • Jetstream Pony. The indie supergroup featuring members of The Wedding Present release their debut.
  • Josephine Foster’s latest is a bluesy, countryfied take on modern folk.
  • Matthew Halsall. Jazz rooted in Manchester but with global inclinations.
  • In case you’ve recovered from the head scrambling finale, Ben Frost’s score to series three of ‘Dark’ gets treated to a physical release.
  • Taylor Swift gets snapped up by Sacred Bones for an album of black metal influenced neo-folk…
  • Helen Love’s punk-pop is as colourful as the sleeve itself.
  • Lots of dream pop & space rock delights from Detroit are compiled by Third Man into the excellent Southeast Of Saturn compilation.
  • You know that funky little ditty at the start of Better Call Saul? That’s Little Barrie. Here they get snapped up by Madlib’s imprint & work with The Heliocentrics’ Malcolm Catto.


  • Castle Face have sent over represses from Damaged Bug & Brigid Dawson.
  • The Specials. Deluxe 40th anniversary reissue of the 2-tone legends second record.
  • Loads of Bob Marley & The Wailers classics have landed for you to (easy) skank to…
  • Exhumed. More talk of blood & guts than your average Saw film.
  • For some reason, this reissue of Coldplay’s debut lands on yellow vinyl…
  • Would that be ‘ouY’? Built To Spill’s 2006 album gets the heavyweight clear vinyl treatment.
  • Mobb Deep. Some of the grimiest hip hop ever put to wax.
  • Moon man Sun Ra gets three avant-jazz favourites reissued.
  • Arthur Verocai. Fans of MPB & Tropicalia should get onto this pronto, especially as it’s at a much lower price than usual.
  • Emma-Jean Thackray. ‘Walrus’ has sold out, but there’s still time to get your hands on ‘Ley Lines’.
  • Fans of UK82, oi! & old-school punk should find a lot to love on Chubby and The Gang’s slice of pub punk.
  • Anthony Moore of Henry Cow’s lost album lands on vinyl for the first time.
  • Ipa-Boogie. I prefer porter foxtrot but there you go…
  • Yuzo Koshiro. Video game OST classic alert.
  • Pink Floyd. No Roger Waters, no problem.
  • Three big names on the Blue Note roster McCoy Tyner, Art Blakey & Donald Byrd are the next in line in the ‘Tone Poet’ series.
  • Black Sabbath. The Sab Four captured their last ever gig here. In Brum of course.
  • Haruomi Hosono. A pair here for the YMO, City Pop & Japanese reissues fans.
  • King Gizzard took things a step further than ‘In Rainbows’ by saying anyone could press this if they wanted.
  • The Distillers. Brody Dalle’s punk outfit reissue their hardcore tinged debut.
  • Fan of obscure Czech new wave films? Well Finders Keepers have got you covered with the scores to ‘Malá morská víla’ & ‘Sedmikrásky’.

Ant’s Electronic Round Up

Money Saving Stuff

  • Vinyl Price Match. We're confident we can match almost any price. Try us.  
  • Free Shipping. UK orders over £50 ship for free. With apols to non-UK folk.
  • NormanPoints. Sign up for an account and start saving literally pennies. 
  • There’s always our Forever Sale to wade through.   

Words: Ant & Tom.

Work: Ian, Nathon, Phil, Daoud, Jamie, Will, Sam, Tom H., Ali & Fred.

Customer Compliment of the Week: ‘b055.’ Lots more of your kind words over on Feefo and Google Reviews.

Follow our Norman Socials: Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube & Spotify.

Best records this week

According to our review team at least...


Medium Rarities

8/10 from Tommy WM

Atlanta progressive metallers Mastodon compile the odds and ends of work from a twenty-year career into a new compilation. ‘Medium Rarities’ showcases their forwar...read on »

Featured albums

Psymon Spine
Higher Intelligence Agency
Sam de la Rosa
Astralasia and Friends
Helen Love
Zdenek Liska
Erik Williamson
King Hannah
The Left Outsides
The Janitors
Emma-Jean Thackray
Anthony Moore
Dirty Projectors
Tor Lundvall
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Ben Frost
Bhajan Bhoy
The Distillers
The Twelve Hour Foundation
Little Barrie & Malcolm Catto
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard
Cristian Vogel
The War On Drugs
Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers
Ricardo Villalobos
Matthew Halsall
McCoy Tyner
Donald Byrd
Pink Floyd
group A
The Specials
Various (YPY, group A, Kohhei Matsuda, Kenichi Iwasa + Tot Onyx)
DMX Krew
Jennifer Castle
Ian Boddy
Jetstream Pony
Nick Cave
Death Qualia
Josephine Foster
Cabaret Voltaire
The Cribs
Luke Abbott
Taylor Swift
Damaged Bug
Brigid Dawson & The Mothers Network
Chubby and The Gang
Haruomi Hosono
Black Sabbath
Yuzo Koshiro
Mobb Deep
Arthur Verocai
Built To Spill