Weekly Update Oneohtrix Point Never, Kurt Vile, Fleet Foxes, Kate NV.

Nicolás Jaar, Concretism, A Certain Ratio, IDLES, Deftones, Thurston Moore, Prince, Elliott Smith, Slift, The Twilight Sad, Pillow Queens, Japanese Television, Lou Reed, Nurse With Wound, Bogdan Raczynski.


  • Album of the Week. Russian musician Kate NV’s latest sees catchy art pop meet cosmic funk, bold new wave & synth pop. There’s a few limited-edition Dinked’s left on these!

New music

  • Bristolian post-hardcore favourites IDLES make it to three albums.
  • Leeds favourites I Like Trains return for the first time in 8 years with a post-rock eschewing, dark post-punk record.
  • A Certain Ratio. First record from the Manchester punk-funk group in over a decade.
  • Big riffs & dreamy sections define the latest from alt. metal kings Deftones.
  • Punk & alt. Rock legend Bob Mould is righteously angry on his fiery new record.
  • Rhodri Davies & Richard Dawson’s Hen Ogledd project return with a fresh outing of weird & wonderful pop.
  • Steve Shelley & MBV’s Debbie Googe join Thurston Moore on his latest solo piece.
  • Japanese Television. Great 5-track EP of spooky surf-psych & krautrock.
  • Thievery Corporation’s Eric Hilton releases his first ever solo work.
  • Make More Noise! Women In Independent Music UK 1977-1987. 4CD & hardback book set for the riot grrrls.
  • Indie pop group & Peel favourites Bob release a shelved album from 92.
  • Cosmic Vibrations ft. Dwight Trible. For those into their spiritual jazz.
  • Carlos Niño & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson. Jazz LP on International Anthem inspired by Lake Michigan.
  • The Nix’s debut features ex-Franz Ferdinand members, Laetitia Sadier, & the influence of Jah Shaka.
  • Hip hop legends Public Enemy return with the help of Nas, DJ Premier, Mike D, Run DMC & more.
  • This in-demand Shlohmo cut finally gets a release with an exclusive to vinyl song.
  • Mark Lanegan & Shelley Brien’s dark synth project Black Phoebe are donating all proceeds to RSPB.
  • Calder youngsters Working Men's Club are already getting reworked by Graham Massey before their debut is even released.
  • You can always count on UK jazzers The Heliocentrics for some psychedelic genre-bending delights.
  • Arcade Fire’s Will Butler puts a personal touch to the sleeve of his first in 5 years.
  • Justin Pinkerton. Danish psych rock label home in the riffs in favour of synths & minimalism here.
  • Gin-fuelled Gothenburg group Fort Not plunder the best of classic American indie here.
  • One doob makes you slower… Prince Fatty reworks a Jefferson Airplane classic.
  • Hotly tipped Dublin newcomers Pillow Queens release their debut.
  • Sylvan Esso. Upbeat pop jams galore.
  • Beverly Glenn-Copeland. Delightfully serene ambient, electronic & new age comp.
  • We’ve got a pair of brassica related delights from two Manchester bands - Cabbage & Heavy Salad
  • Makaya McCraven presents 14 unreleased cuts from the ‘Universal Beings’ album.
  • Enigmatic group STR4TA pay homage to UK funk on their first EP for Brownswood.
  • Three releases from space poppers Flaming Lips have been reduced to £9.99.


Ant’s Electronic Round Up

  • You wait ages for a vinylized Nicolás Jaar ambient album and two arrive at once.
  • Twinkle³ complete their immense trilogy with a bold, intergalactic, interdimensional odyssey on Marionette.
  • Lush Waveform Transmission (Rod Modell & Chris Troy) crystalline ambient bliss.
  • Oliver Ho (Broken English Club) returns with a crushing gothic industrial record as Slow White Fall. Plus Rainforest Spiritual Enslavement, Giant Swan, Cub, Slow White Fall and Kerridge remixing My Disco. Both out on Downwards.
  • Bogdan Raczynski's Braindance classic is still pure FUN two decades on.
  • Horror musique concrète tape from Omamy on Evening Chants. Edition of 100.
  • Modern classical/ambient integrating weepers from Library Tapes feat. Julia Kent, Akira Kosemura and pals.
  • Nurse With Wound ‘To The Quiet Men From A Tiny Girl’ and ‘Merzbild Schwet’ mega classics reissued on coloured vinyl.
  • Innovative pop music from Marie Davidson & L'Oeil nu on Ninja Tune.
  • Miki Yui uses dreamworld experiences to trigger our imaginations.
  • Silent Vigils trilogy concludes on Home Normal - an optimistic celebration of new life.
  • Deep, extended soundscapes from Terrence Dixon & Jordan GCZ.
  • Brooklyn techno warrior Adam X opens up his Acid Archives 92-94.
  • Fierce, gruelling, industrialized jackhammer punishers from JT Whitfield on L.I.E.S.
  • UK techno stalwart Kirk Degiorgio switches gear into half-time d&b and shoegazey mode backed by a remix from Anthony Child aka Surgeon.
  • Sophia Loizou’s eco-centric cyber-dreams/visions of earth through non-human eyes.
  • Collection of frenetic early Gqom spanning 2013-2019 from Phelimuncasi.
  • Coupla tracks from the first Logic System (ex-YMO man Hideki Matsutake) album pressed to 12" for the jockeys.
  • 2CD collecting Francisco López's sonic adventures out in the wild.
  • Khotin LP on Ghostly - melodic electronica up top / blurry, dreamy ambient beneath.
  • AD 93 (fka Whities) blue series 12" feat. Mucho Sueño / Bas Dobbelaer / Martinou / Sapphire Slows. Very limited copies.
  • Ominous, energetic electro-industrial sizzlers from Identified Patient on Dekmantel.
  • Clutch of Tapeworm spools from strom|morts, Gabie Strong and Richard Francis & Frans de Waard.
  • Zoned EP on Palto Flats from Silvia Kastel and Wilted Woman as Shakey.

Money Saving Stuff

  • Vinyl Price Match. We're confident we can match almost any price. Try us.  
  • Free Shipping. UK orders over £50 ship for free. With apols to non-UK folk.
  • NormanPoints. Sign up for an account and start saving literally pennies. 
  • There’s always our Forever Sale to wade through.   

Words: Ant & Tom.

Work: Ian, Nathon, Phil, Daoud, Jamie, Will, Sam, Tom H., Ali & Fred.

Customer Compliment of the Week: ‘Hitting the right note.’ Lots more of your kind words over on Feefo and Google Reviews.

Follow our Norman Socials: Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, YouTube & Spotify.

Best records this week

According to our review team at least...


Protean Threat

8/10 from Tommy WM

OSEES are a band who are hard to keep up with. Unless you’re a devoted follower, they’re a group so prolific that casual fans may skip over one or two of their rel...read on »

Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith

The Mosaic Of Transformation

8/10 from Fred MG

As the final notes of Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith’s ‘The Mosaic Of Transformation’ wound down, a storm, which had been threatening to break all week, finally came....read on »

Featured albums

Oneohtrix Point Never
Kurt Vile
Fleet Foxes
Black Phoebe
BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah
Slow White Fall
BADBADNOTGOOD & Ghostface Killah
My Disco
Templefeld by Kirk Degiorgio
Library Tapes
Cosmic Vibrations ft. Dwight Trible
Terrence Dixon & Jordan GCZ ‎
Mucho Sueño / Bas Dobbelaer / Martinou / Sapphire Slows
Silent Vigils
Gabie Strong
Richard Francis & Frans de Waard
Fort Not
Francisco López
Hen Ogledd
Public Enemy
Pillow Queens
Elliott Smith
Bogdan Raczynski
Justin Pinkerton
The Ex
Miki Yui
The Ex
Identified Patient
Eric Hilton
Working Men's Club
Waveform Transmission
Jimmy Smith with Stanley Turrentine
Herbie Hancock
Horace Silver Quintet
Mercury Rev
Sophia Loizou
Lou Reed
Prince Fatty and Shniece McMenamin
Marie Davidson & L'Oeil nu
Sylvan Esso
The Nix
Makaya McCraven
Heavy Salad
Will Butler
Nocturnal Emissions
Thurston Moore
A Certain Ratio
Carlos Niño & Miguel Atwood-Ferguson
Beverly Glenn-Copeland
Japanese Television
Kevin Rowland
Logic System
Bob Mould
JT Whitfield
I Like Trains
Kate NV
Adam X
Jóhann Jóhannsson with Hildur Guðnadóttir & Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe
The Brian Jonestown Massacre
Kikagaku Moyo
The Twilight Sad
Mercury Rev