Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

2 reviews | 20 people love this record: be the 21st!

Thank God For Mental Illness is the third album by The Brian Jonestown Massacre. It was originally released in 1996. Their consistent quality and prolific nature is mind blowing enough, but when you realise that this album was recorded in one day for less than $18, you’ve just got to applaud their chops.

Thank God For Mental Illness is available for the first time on vinyl, so to make it that bit more special, the vinyl is yellow and a weighty 180 gm.

  • LP £14.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 145 ?
  • AUK007LP / Repress LP on 'a' Recordings
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / CD on 'a' Recordings

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for The Brian Jonestown Massacre - Thank God For Mental Illness - wanna see 'em?


Thank God For Mental Illness by The Brian Jonestown Massacre
2 reviews. Add your own review.
20 people love this record. Be the 21st!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 02 September 2015

This is the first time on vinyl for this early era Brian Jonestown record. Made for the princely sum of $17.36 it was recorded live in their house. You can almost see broken sitars and discarded drug paraphernalia lying about as you listen to the opener ‘Spanish Bee’. There hasn’t been too much care applied to whether the tambourine is in time but the soaring chorus reveals the songwriting knack is there behind the chaos. ‘IT Girl’ is much better recorded displaying the same hispanic feel as the opener and the same devil may care attitude to instrumentation. By the time the bluesy ’13’ rolls around you realise that this is BJM’s ‘Party’ record. It’s slipshod, ramshackle full of mistakes and values feel over execution. What holds it together are the glimpses of songwriting gold amid the carnage. ‘Ballad of Jim Jones’ comes across as Bob Dylan in ‘Basement Tapes’ sprawl and ‘Down’ pre-dates their later druggy psych jamzzz and sounds like it was recorded in 1969.

There’s a lot of skiffly early Beatles type things scattered about. If they gave a fuck about marketing this would be called Brian Jonestown Massacre ‘Raw and Ready’ or something inane. It’s as close as you are probably likely to get to hearing the sound of Newcombe and pals playing in your front room. 

10/10 Samuel Huxley Smith Customer review, 24th September 2015

I unwittingly pooped a couple rainbows over this sweet sweet goodness. Makes me wanna L O V E myself and others, gently and considerately.

All Hail Anton Newcombe!!! 

Norman Records is the absolute pamela shankly of the blessed vinyl vendors. 

Thanks God for mental illness. Thank god for Norman Records. Thank god for making me a woman/man.

Thank God for butt love and canned tuna fish. 

Thank God for that one BJM song star cleaner that's not even on this record but is super duper fabulous 'n' shit.

Love each other. bye x


The Brian Jonestown Massacre "Ballad Of Jim Jones" - YouTube



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.