Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Matador / Music On Vinyl / OLE4502 / MOVLP203
  • Add Modest Mouse to your favourites
  • Add Matador to your favourites
1 review | 14 people love this record: be the 15th!

The third full length album by the popular American group was their first for a major label. Here it is repressed on lovely vinyl.  

  • Double LP £21.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7-14 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 220 ?
  • MOVLP203 / 180g 2LP reissue on Music On Vinyl

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7-14 days but delays are possible.

  • CD £7.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • OLE4502
  • OLE4502 / CD on Matador

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Modest Mouse - The Moon & Antarctica - wanna see 'em?


The Moon & Antarctica by Modest Mouse
1 review. Add your own review.
14 people love this record. Be the 15th!
9/10 Mike Staff review, 24 July 2014

I'm enjoying a nice nostalgic start to a long day's reviewing with this newly-reissued Modest Mouse gem. Their third album proper, this was the one where they really started polishing their rough and visceral countrified indie rock into the more refined and measured alt-pop that's earned them the household name status they enjoy today...I kind of see it as the one where they stopped trying to look like they weren't trying.

I recall when this album came out I was a bit disappointed by the softening of their harsher edges, but with hindsight they were simply moving from one good thing to another. Tracks like 'Paper Thin Walls' and 'Alone Down There' tether a barely restrainable venom with clinical studio precision that nicely exacerbates the tension and frustration in Brock's wordplay, but they do let their hair down a bit at the end with the ferocious and slightly Husker Du-esque 'What People Are Made Of'.

There's a lot of his most memorable lyrics here, possibly in part because several songs still employ the mantra-like repetition that they were so fond of early on. What's most notable with hindsight though is how ambitious and varied this album is, mixing swooping country balladeering with wonky indie rock and hypnotically repetitive passages of twisting guitars and yelp-chanted vocals. It all reaches its peak in penultimate track 'Life Like Weeds', which does all the above things and makes them sound easy, with a mastery of emotional manipulation that brings to mind the first couple of dEUS albums. It's aged very well I think, if anything it sounds better than I remember.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.