Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 4 people love this record: be the 5th!

A reissue of Bright Eyes' 2002 full length release, Lifted Or The Story Is In The Soil. With equal parts folk and indie, frontman Conor Oberst's authentic and well-crafted songwriting is accompanied by his shaky Nebraska voice and diverse instrumentation including orchestral elements, a rock line-up and often just simple acoustic guitar. Released on Vinyl LP and CD on the Saddle Creek label.

  • CD £8.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 90 ?
  • LBJ236CD / Reissue CD on Saddle Creek

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £27.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • LBJ236LP
  • LBJ236LP / Remastered black vinyl 2LP on Saddle Creek, in gatefold tip-on sleeve

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Bright Eyes - Lifted Or The Story Is In The Soil - wanna see 'em?


Lifted Or The Story Is In The Soil by Bright Eyes
1 review. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

9/10 Richard Customer review, 31st October 2016

There was quite a fuss about Bright Eyes when this LP was originally released in 2002. Listening to it again now, almost 15 years later it's fair to say that the hype was justified and that the LP has stood the test of time. No other Bright Eyes record comes close to matching it, in fact most are pretty disappointing when compared to this.

It's a long LP and sweeps through a variety of styles which highlight the talent that Conor Oberst really does have. His voice is marmite of course, and the quivering delivery can grate a bit at times, but when set against the scratchy guitars on opener 'The Big Picture' it's really quite affecting. There are times when he sounds genuinely on edge, and the lyrics deal with a sense of dread and hopelessness. It can seem a bit like a teenage rant in places but it's easy to forget that Conor was just 22 when this was released, and most of us are complete dicks at that age.

Songs end abruptly, and change track frequently. This could be infuriating if the interest wasn't kept through the midly experimental approach the LP isn't afraid of showcasing and managing to pull off at the same time. Stand out tracks are 'Lover I Don't Have To Love' and 'Don't Know When But A Day Is Gonna Come', but the LP really works as a whole, and if you have a spare 70 mins or so it's well worth immersing yourself in it - background music it is not! Not perfect, but easily the best Bright Eyes LP, and if you are only going to buy one of their reissues this is definitely the one to get. Great stuff.


Waste of Paint - YouTube



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.