This deluxe edition of ‘Come On Die Young’ has been painstakingly put together by the band and label, unearthing more than an hour of bonus material, including:

  • Previously unreleased takes from early Chem19 sessions of ‘Waltz For Aidan’, ‘Christmas Steps’, ‘Rollerball’ and ‘7-25’, which featured on ‘Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait’.
  • Seven remixed and remastered album tracks from CAVA sessions pre-dating the final Tarbox recording sessions.
  • Two previously unreleased tracks - ‘Satchel Panzer’ and ‘Spoon Test’.
  • Rarities ‘Nick Drake’, ‘Hugh Dallas’ and the three track ‘Travels In Constants’ EP.
  • The original, previously unreleased version of ‘Helps Both Ways’.

Available on double CD, 4LP box set and digital download. Box set details:

  • Four 180gsm LPs featuring the original double LP, plus two LPs of bonus material and a download code for all audio.
  • Two exclusive Chem19 demos: ‘Christmas Steps’ and ‘7-25’.
  • Limited to 1500 units for the UK and Eire.

CD £7.18 CHEM133CD

Deluxe 2CD edition inc. bonus material on Chemikal Underground.

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Currently ships in 5-7 days but delays are possible.

Limited Vinyl Deluxe LP box set £49.99 CHEM133

Deluxe 180g vinyl 4LP box set inc. bonus material on Chemikal Underground limited to 1500.

  • Limited edition
  • Includes download code
Sold out.

CD £5.99 CHEM033CD

CD on Chemikal Underground.

Sold out.

CD £4.99

USED CD on Chemikal Underground, VG (has light scrawly scratch on, plays fine!!).

Sold out.


Come On Die Young by Mogwai
2 reviews. Write a review for us »
8/10 Brian 18 July 2014

To many, CODY represents Mogwai's most successful long-playing attempt at a "classic". Others cite 'Rock Action' as their masterpiece. I am a bit of a cynical twat however and refuse to acknowledge that this long-running Glasgow bunch have ever quite reached those dizzying heights on record. Every album they've done has had me staring at my watch after 20 minutes. That's some feat. I haven't worn a watch since I was 15.

Everybody knows Mogwai are one of the greatest live bands in the shaky infrastructure that is currently called the United Kingdom. I've seen them destroy venues and enormous festival tents alike many a time. Our old departed scribe Brett once mentioned how he dissolved into the foetal position at the back of one festival tent for almost the entirety of their set around the Millennium, unable to move in his ecstacy-induced confusion as these Scottish scamps terrorized his serotonin-flooded mind into submission during one of their trademark strobe-saturated sonic meltdowns/take-offs. I have many fond memories of being battered around by this truly humbling force of amplified nature.

What is it then with my quiet aversion to their recorded output? I dunno. I've always been a little underwhelmed by the workman-like drums. The guy is the Ringo Starr of post-rock. The occasional reedy vocal utterances are terrible too. I wish Braithwaite wouldn't open his mouth except to abuse people. He's really good at that. Their albums meander, full of good ideas, wonderful guitar interplay and grand intentions. But I get distracted easily during the course of all their records. Everything fades into the background as I become subsumed by thoughts. A band for stoics if ever there was one. This one in particular is a more downbeat, atmospheric outing, I recall people were talking about Pornography-era Cure at the time. I still don't quite get that?

Having said all this,' CODY' is the album I've played far more than their others. There is something intrinsically fascinating about hearing it all unfurl, It's like a Mogwai sketch-book where you can hear all their workings out, like they're refining their sound. You get the idea that as in awe to albums such as Spiderland that they were, they're edging out here into pastures yet unexplored. It's a more mature and coherent listen than 'Young Team' (which I actually prefer because of the fat rock monsters therein) It takes real patience and once you switch into the correct listening mode 'CODY' is a strangely rewarding recording. Discretion and subtlety are the keys here.

This re-issue I'm sure you all know is getting the full royal CU treatment, much like their début a few years back; unreleased/rare tracks/demos/alternative versions, the tracks from the US only 'Travels in Constants' EP - all that shizzle - nicely housed in slipcase CD and lavish four-piece vinyl. For my few criticisms, It is still really satisfying to see this seminal British post-rock instalment get its dues a decade and a half on.

10/10 Martin Customer rating (no review), 19th December 2018



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.