Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

The Spotlight Kid is Captain Beefheart’s sixth album, initially released in 1972 with the Magic Band naturally in tow. Following straight on from Trout Mask Replica and Lick My Decals Off, Baby, this record finds the music slowing down somewhat, letting Beefheart sink into some woozy swampy vibes. 180g vinyl reissue on Rhino.

  • LP £15.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 155 ?
  • 0603497911103 / 180g vinyl reissue LP on Rhino
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £10.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • 2050
  • 2050 / USED Reprise Black Vinyl re-press 180 gram vinyl NM/EX+

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


The Spotlight Kid by Captain Beefheart & The Magic Band
1 review. Add your own review.
7 people love this record. Be the 8th!

8/10 Jack Customer review, 9th April 2016

Originally two separate albums, they are joined by dint of the fact that a more mainstream producer hooked up with Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band with results that were strikingly uneven. The first record is more conventional than what he did before, it is the bluesier side of Captain Beefheart, with lyrics that are mostly just as poetic and strange as those on Trout Mask Replica. With the passage of time, you can enjoy Clear Spot for what it is, and none of the rest of it is as botched as the single. You do get the sense that he and the band are a little tired.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.