Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

3 reviews »

Oooh, now this is a special one… F#A#∞ is the first ever album released by formative post-rock legends Godspeed You! Black Emperor, dating from 1997. The vinyl comes packaged with a coin flattened by being left on a Montreal train track (yes really) and various other trinkets, which adds to the mystery and inscrutable beauty of the music.

  • LP £20.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 210 ?
  • CST003lp / LP inc. coin and bits on Constellation
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £13.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 140 ?
  • KRANK027 / CD on Kranky

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £10.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • CST003
  • CST003 / USED LP inc coin on Constellation, EX+/EX+

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

  • CD £7.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • KRANK 027
  • KRANK 027 / USED CD on Kranky, NM

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


F♯ A♯ ∞ by Godspeed You! Black Emperor
3 reviews. Add your own review.
69 people love this record. Be the 70th!
9/10 Brian Staff review, 16 February 2010

Leftfield even to the post-rockers of its heyday, and arguably the crowning jewel in Constellation's long canon of experimental rock music, 'F A Infinity' still surprises me. Godspeed You! Black Emperor became something else after this record: more structured, and sensitive to the symbiosis of their rock and ambient actions. On their debut record, however, it felt like they were kids in film school who never finished with the editing process. This record collages together brief motifs, toys with vocal samples and occasionally breaks into a climax with little idea of its method. Whether you listen to it in its truncated vinyl form -- whose packaging alone attempts to mystify, to obscure the process -- or in full on CD, this record takes our preconceived notions of post-rock and breaks up with them.

'F A Infinity' is, in that sense, more tone poem than album: the screeching bagpipes of "East Hastings" are unrelated to Efrim Menuck's shit-hot riffs, and the talk of the apocalypse often comes between subdued home recordings. The post-rock arrangements are more an additive than the final piece -- it's about imagery, not narrative, and while this ensemble would go on to make gorgeously cinematic music, they never quite recaptured the strange glory of this weird fucking record.

10/10 chris Customer review,

Truly awesome album, the best band in this area in my opinion and a shame they moved to the silver mount zion orchestra stuff. Well worth the LP version but hey I bought the CD too :-)

7/10 Steve Customer rating (no review), 8th February 2018


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.