Coming eight years after his first album Total, during which time he’s helped to produce the likes of Charlotte Gainsbourg and Frank Ocean, Sébastien Akchoté (known as SebastiAn) at last delivers his sophomore studio effort. Using his expanded rolodex of contacts, Thirst includes guest spots from the likes of Syd (The Internet), Sparks and the aforementioned Charlotte Gainsbourg. 

Limited Vinyl Double LP £24.99 BEC5543956

Limited edition pink coloured vinyl 2LP + CD on Because Music. Comes in an embossed sleeve.

  • Shipping cost: £4.50 ?
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Limited edition
  • Only 1 copy left (1 person has this in their cart)
This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Thirst by SebastiAn
1 review. Write a review for us »
9/10 Will 19 December 2019

Well it's finally getting so cold that, in the immortal words of Withnail, "my head's gone numb". When better, then, to listen to some chilly Frech electronica? My first attempts to finish listening to this album were thwarted by just how celestially, transcendentally good the opening track, 'Thirst', is. Wow. There was me thinking I'd got my end of year lists finished. This song has got everything: vim, vigour, deliciously evil bass sounds, a staccato string section, and more punch than my Aunty Lily's Xmas party. 

Wow (again). I love this album. There are hints of dubstep and glitch but included with such lightness of touch. This album has the density of a Soulwax Radio mix and it feels just as exhilarating. 'Thirst' has so may elements that form my musical dharma, like autotune, horrible electronic distortion, and 808s. 'Better Now' is Beach Boys electronica, all vocal harmonies, electronic bass, wistful chord progressions, and sleigh bells. 

I kept waiting for this album to dip in quality but it just doesn't. I was completely floored by 'Thirst' and am genuinely having a tough time conveying my enjoyment of this record. At the moment it feels like a very very strong 9/10 that could become, upon further listens, 10/10. Banger. 



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.