You wait years for a new Mudhoney LP and then two come along at once. After the Seattle grunge veterans returned to the fray back in 2018 with the excellent 'Digital Garbage', the band now offer up another set of tracks less than a year on from that record. Not everything on 'Morning In America' is new - ‘Vortex Of Lies’ was on a hyper-limited tour 7” while ‘Let’s Kill Yourself Live Again’ and ‘One Bad Actor’ are re-workings of older material - but by and large this is fresh meat. All of the cuts on 'Morning In America' date from the 'Digital Garbage' sessions.

Vinyl LP £17.49 SP1325

Black vinyl LP on Sub Pop.

  • Shipping cost: £3.35 ?
  • Includes download code
This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Currently ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

Limited Vinyl LP £17.49 SP1325X

Limited, indies only 'Loser Edition' silver coloured vinyl LP on Sub Pop.

  • Shipping cost: £3.35 ?
  • Coloured vinyl
  • Indies only
  • Limited edition
  • Includes download code
This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Currently ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Morning In America by Mudhoney
1 review. Write a review for us »
5/10 Daoud 16 September 2019

You know Mudhoney, I don’t know that singing that ‘America hates itself’ is as meaningful as you think. I can only assume the lyric was written in some (justified) post-Trump rage, but I’m struggling to unpack it. I think there’s something pretty thoughtless at positioning the election of Trump (and whatever you think about the American electoral system, he did get elected), as an act of self-hate, when it was so transparently an act of that other thing. You know, hate. 

In any case, I’m not sure that anyone’s ever come to Mudhoney for their lyricism. After all, this is a band whose best release is named after two of the pedals they were using. And ‘Morning In America’ sounds like they’re probably still using the same pedals. So if it’s that trademark Mudhoney take on grunge you’re craving, this record will probably do you right. If not, these off cuts from 2018’s ‘Digital Garbage’ are deeply underwhelming, and not just lyrically.

At their best, Mudhoney sound like they’re about to catch fire. There’s a free-wheeling quality to them that is impossible to get caught up in. ‘Touch Me I’m Sick’ is an utter rollercoaster of a track. And that feeling just isn’t here. It’s too smooth, too well practiced, too safe. 

Probably the worst thing about ’Morning In America’ is the inclusion of the tasteless and boring ‘Kill Yourself Live’ first seen on ‘Digital Garbage’, though here it's slightly different and appended with the word ‘Again’. The song remains the vapid critique of social media it always was, its target still the user rather than the corporations that encourage and enable whatever it is Mudhoney think is bad. 



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.