Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

3 x 4 is a compilation album featuring The Bangles (yes, they were cool), Rain Parade, The Three O’Clock and Dream Syndicate covering each other’s songs. The bands were all part of the Paisley Underground scene of the early-mid ‘80s. All songs were recorded in 2018. Double LP and CD on Yep Roc.

Vinyl Double LP £22.99 LPYEP2596

2LP on Yep Roc.

  • Shipping cost: £4.50 ?
  • Only 1 copy left (2 people have this in their carts)
This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

CD £10.99 CDYEP2596

CD on Yep Roc.

  • Shipping cost: £1.05 ?
This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier. Usually ships in 7-14 days but delays are possible.


3 x 4 by Various (The Bangles, The Three O’Clock, The Dream Syndicate and Rain Parade)
1 review. Write a review for us »
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 27 February 2019

We all remember the Paisley Underground scene don't we? That paisley shirted, 60s fixated gang on the West Coast of America who proved that guitar music was still alive and well in the synth ridden 1980s. Here we have four of the best covering each others songs, which kind of gets confusing when trying to figure out what is what here....luckily the bands are of similar styles so it hangs together like a kaftan on a cloak hook.   

The Bangles are of course the biggest name to emerge out of this scene and here provide three of the highlights of the album firstly with their take on the Dream Syndicate's superb 'That's What You Always Say'... good but check out the original  - it will kill you.  They also cover two of the eras best songs the Rain Parade's 'Talking In My Sleep' and the Three O Clock's 'Jet Fighter'. They don't really do anything drastic to the songs  - it's still all jangle-jingle and coo-ing vocals but they landed the best songs out of the hat. The Dream Syndicate do an excellent meaty version of the Rain Parade's 'You Are My Friend' and have a blast through the Three O'Clocks excellent early racket 'She Turns To Flowers'. I've always enjoyed the Three O'Clock and in particular Michael Quercio's helium-high vocals and they do a terrific rendition of the Rain Parade's masterpiece 'What's She Done To Your Mind' altthough they deconstruct the Dream Syndicate's 'Tell Me When It's Over' somewhat which I'm just not sure about. Finally, the Rain Parade get just three tracks (not sure why) but I'm glad one of them is the Three O' Clock's psych opus 'As Real As Real'. 

Though it's the sound of four veteran bands smooth sailing towards retirement, it's a healthy reminder of how many classic songs emerged out of this fruitful era.   


The Bangles - Jet Fighter - YouTube


  • 3 x 4 by Various (The Bangles, The Three O’Clock, The Dream Syndicate and Rain Parade)


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.