Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | Only 1 person has said they love this record: be the 2nd!

Rockpool Blue is the seventh album from Belfast’s guitar poppers, Sea Pinks. The album’s theme centres on embracing the sadness that tinges realising you have become an adult despite not really knowing how you got there and then realising it’s not all that bad after all. LP on CF Records, limited to 250 copies.

  • LP £15.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 160 ?
  • CFF47LP / LP on CF Records. Limited edition of 250 copies
  • Only 3 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Rockpool Blue by Sea Pinks
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 07 November 2018

I still feel bad that I snapped at Sea Pinks a few years ago after their Soft Days album inadvertently sent me over my jangle pop limit. It was like losing your temper with a teddy bear. Still, they haven't let it affect them too much and are standing up to record shop yard bullies with this which I'm told is their seventh album. 

Right from the get go it's full of the sort of hazy sunny day jangle pop that reminds me of the glory days of China Crisis. A lot of music reminds me of China Crisis these days but no-one really ever acknowledges their rather incredible influence of on the indie pop scene. Opener 'Watermelon Sugar (Alcohol) is pure first album era China Crisis but elsewhere they get less jangly with the strummy pop Bioluminescence where the singer shouts a bit and it's my turn to be a bit terrified. They are best when they intertwine their guitars -  'Dumb Angel' reminds me of the time in the 80s when British bands tried to ape REM and came up with something a little more straightforward and less mysterious. I'm thinking of the Close Lobsters - that lot/. Really sends me back this to another time and place. 

'Rockpool Blue' is not groundbreaking nor world changing but is a surefooted album of unpretentious guitar entanglement full of enjoyable bits.       



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.