Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | Only 1 person has said they love this record: be the 2nd!

Tape Loop Orchestra is the project of Andrew Hargreaves (The Boats, Cotton Goods). I'm too stupid to understand what the press release is blabbering on about so let me say that his music is a rather stately affair of voice-based drones. Long sweeping segments of beauty that sit somewhere between GAS and the Caretaker. Limited copies - already Sold out at source.

  • LP £17.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • TLOITCLP005 / Regular edition, standalone LP does not include the bonus CD. Limited copies!

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Tape Loop Orchestra - Return To The Light - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Return To The Light by Tape Loop Orchestra
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 23 August 2018

‘Return To The Light’ is the penultimate record in Tape Loop Orchestra’s (aka Andrew Hargreaves (The Boats, Beppu)) ‘Instrumental Transcommunications’ series and it’s a real stunner. Gothic yet radiant choral drones/loops feel like voices from divinity transported from the heavens through beams of light, shining down through the aether on ‘Outer Light’. This seventeen minute piece is magnificent in its sheer scale and transcendent weight - it sounds like the fucking voice of God! There are echoes of some of the choral work on Jóhann Jóhannsson’s ‘Orphée’ - an album with similar artwork, so quite possibly an inspiration.

‘Inner Voice’ is more introspective and equally as gorgeous - think somewhere between the otherworldly ambient of David Sylvian & Holger Czukay's 'Plight & Premonition' and the disintegrating, arcane vocals of Akira Rabelais' 'Spellewauerynsherde'.


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.