Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Hibernate /
  • Add Pausal to your favourites
  • Add Hibernate to your favourites
1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Music to imagine vistas, valleys, forests and glaciers to by airy UK duo Pausal, known individually as Alex “Olan Mill” Smalley and Simon Bainton. With a cover painting by Susanne Seinmann, the album comprises extended improvisations edited down into manageable pieces. Beard and morning coffee optional but recommended. Mastered by the dynamics duo of Lawrence English and Porya Hatami.

  • CD £8.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 90 ?
  • / CD on Hibernate Records

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Volume Flow by Pausal
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 21 August 2018

This. This is the type of music -- we’ll call it ambient, for argument’s sake but ‘warm drone’ might equally suffice -- to turn up loud and drench yourself in. Pump up the volume and let the lovely, luscious, temperate fountain of sound gush, pour and run over you. Caution: you might get wet, so clothing is optional. Pausal -- the duo of Alex Smalley (also recording as Olan Mill) and Simon Bainton -- are good at this kind of ambient drone stuff. Sweeping and cinematic in scope, it’s best heard loud or on good headphones in order to fully appreciate the immersive nature of the sounds.

With a stereo image carefully set up to allow the tones to zoom in and out at various conceivable angles, it’s a heady experience and an emotional one as Alex and Simon have prepared their machinery to operate at ‘maximum shimmer’, just for you. Volume Flow was aptly named, then: you can sit and listen, eyes closed and picture large bodies of water running, flowing and intermingling. The album’s six track flow into each other without a nanosecond’s pause in an all-too-short but blissful 37 minutes. Let it wash over you and feel refreshed. Hibernate, I salute you.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.