Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Yes! Michael Cottone is back as The Green Kingdom with his new album Seen And Unseen, this time on the Sound In Silence label. This Michigan sound artist and graphic designer is ever using composition to soundtrack landscapes with keen melodies and often labyrinthine structure. Cottone's skills as a sonic architect piece together tranquil guitar, hazy synth, harmonic tones, glitches and fragile piano. A limited edition of 200 CDs in handmade and numbered card packages with envelope and polaroid photo.

  • CD £10.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 110 ?
  • / Edition of 200 handmade and hand-numbered copies packaged hand-stamped deep brown cardboard envelope with the front cover image printed on a polaroid style photo paper.
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Seen And Unseen by The Green Kingdom
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 21 August 2018

How does he do it? I don’t know. Michael Cottone is a highly prolific and very consistent man, whether as a graphic designer or as he does here: on this very CD, Cottone has recorded music so that people like me (your humble Norman reviewer) can attempt to sell to you (our loyal patrons with exceptionally good taste). This chap does it all crazily well -- here, as The Green Kingdom, he has assembled parts of sound together to make one smooth ride into the steadily approaching melodic stratosphere, all with deceptive simplicity.

Often labelled ‘ambient’, Cottone uses guitar, effects, warm synth pads, subtle piano and assorted reverb-laden instrumentation to coax / drone you slowly into a cosy little cocoon so as to rest awhile (at least forty of our Earth minutes, possibly just enough for our post-lunch dreamy moments). I find it fascinating that such (on the surface) feather-light, wispy sounds can have such a weighty pull -- this is a testament to the craft someone like Cottone brings to this area of music. I could listen to the track 'Dorado' on loop, for a very long time. But not now, obviously.

Seen and Unseen is the aural equivalent of a dewdrop on a bare branch over a soft bed of leaves on a misty Autumn mid-morning. And it’s clever, hypnotic and gorgeous stuff; yet again. 



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.