Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 6 people love this record: be the 7th!

Former Talvihorros chap Ben Chatwin has not been content with releasing one album this year. Instead he has gone back to his sound sources for 'Staccato Signals' and created an entirely new work. 'Drone Signals' as you might guess by the title is a more ambient stretched out work that will appeal to all your drone and neo classical greats like Ben Frost and Max Richter

  • LP £15.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 155 ?
  • VGLP039 / 180g vinyl LP on Village Green
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • VGCD039 / CD on Village Green

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Drone Signals by Ben Chatwin
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 18 September 2018

Ben Chatwin has (at least) one more record for us this year. Chatwin and his record label Village Green release their follow-up / companion piece to ‘Staccato Signals’ from approximately two months ago. Since then, Ben has been in the mood for a bit of recycling, repurposing pre-existing strands of his own music for a slower-moving strain of future-worlds devastation. Drone Signals (I see what they did there) is a kind of deconstructed and expanded upon sequel to its predecessor, which was in our Robin’s words: “a space opera… of propulsive metallic sheen and intricate neo-classical”.

The metallic lustre on this set is all the more polished and aglow; grainy electronics take turns to stream, often buffering before lurching back into life as an alternative soundtrack to ‘Lost in Space’ rather than a staccato version of Star Wars. Strings are stretched yet wind supply around the whole package as if bending to Chatwin and his machines’ will. The melodies are there, they just take time to unravel and reveal themselves.

On the track ‘Lost At Sea’ there’s a slew of melancholic melody that even Max Richter might gawp at, before ebbing away into the incoming tide of gorgeous electronic dissonance leading nicely into the softly rising synth arpeggios and oscillations of ‘Coruscate’. Beauty, always with more than a little hint of danger. Just how I like it.



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.