Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

2 reviews | 5 people love this record: be the 6th!

After releases on labels like Spectral Sound and Opal Tapes, Patricia makes the switch to Nona Records (Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, Kadaver) for the latest drop. The one born Max Ravitz - you may also know him as any from Inhalants, Masks and Pulpo - serves up five more slices of hissing electro here. Free Lunch will please anyone who dug Patricia’s recent triple LP Several Shades Of The Same Colour.

  • 12" £12.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 130 ?
  • / Stamped white label, 5-track 12" EP on NONA Records

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Free Lunch by Patricia
2 reviews. Add your own review.
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!
8/10 Ant Staff review, 30 August 2018

Max Ravitz is a member of Inhalants, Masks, Pulpo etc. and here returns under his best known alias Patricia (Opal Tapes, Sleeperhold Publications) to further pursue a sound he touched upon on one of the tunes from his 'Several Shades Of The Same Color' EP trilogy on Spectral Sound. That is a shift from his cherished house and techno works and into acid electro mode for a tasty stamped white label, 5-track 12" EP on Czech Republic based label NONA Records. The label are also a crew that throw parties with killer line-ups and run a synthesizer company called Bastl Instruments - so no strangers to electronics and dancefloors.

Sounds like he may have tweaked his modular rack a wee bit and comes with a refreshed sound palette and invigorated energy on this EP. Yet there’s still that melancholy sound of his in the DNA of these tracks. As heard in the bassline on the urgent and frantic squirming electro of opening cut ‘Your Battery Is Leaking’. Likewise the momentum of 'Consumer Recreation Services' feels as though it’s being restrained by its gooey melting synths that have something of an Aphex Analord flavour. ‘Placeholder’ has similar unorthodox tuning to its lead melody which weeps over some excellent 303 action and crisp 808. It could easily be some unearthed lost tune on Rephlex and wouldn’t sound out of place on one of the Monolith releases on Rephlex or WéMè. Over on the flipside dwell the vigorous drums and warping layered melodies of 'Early Stages Of Something', and ‘Winnipeg’ with its lush sunshine like melody beaming like rays of pure sunshine.

Across the EP, the framework of the percussion isn’t what we’re used to from this artist but vibe wise it's still totally the Patricia we know and love. There’s a sort of push and pull dynamic between the momentum and energy of the driving percussion that moves the feet, and the almost forlorn heady melodies. ‘Free Lunch’ really encapsulates the feeling of those introspective soul searching moments while lost in the groove. The yin and yang of sorrow and ecstacy.

9/10 Jean-marc Customer rating (no review), 14th September 2018



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.