Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Despite being known for his work in electro-acoustic music and with Gruppo di Improvvisazione Nuova ConsonanzaRoland Kayn spent most of his musical career creating what he called Cybernetic Music, where music is created generatively using programming. This boxset celebrates one of his first Cybernetic works, Simultan, first released in 1972. 

  • LP box set £55.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • DS 36
  • DS 36 / 3LP box on Die Schachtel. Black vinyl edition of 400 copies, comes with extensive booklet and printed inner sleeves. Remastered from the original analogue master tapes.

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Simultan by Roland Kayn
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!
9/10 Ant Staff review, 01 August 2018

“Cybernetic Music” sounds like something from Terminator 2 right? No shit. This stuff is from 1977 too. Just look at all those cables he was using. Enough to make your average Eurorack junkie soil themselves with inadequacy. Roland Kayn’s incredible Cybernetic Music is a startling physical presence like no other. I devoured that unbelievable fourteen-hour box set that frozen reeds did such a magnificent job with, and I swear those sounds are still whirring around my house long after hitting the stop button on ye olde CD player. Like my home is now possessed by some force from beyond the veil - still toiling there like some malevolent interdimensional intrusion. Kayn’s music has a life of its own - devoid of its creator's ego. It is artificial intelligence in action that feels so absolutely alive it borders on terrifying. ‘Simultan’ is quite simply a masterpiece - a certified badass motherfucker of a record but then if you’re considering dropping sixty big ones on it you probably already know this. If you’re a fan of the album then beg, steal or borrow to get your paws on this as Die Schachtel has done an amazing job with this reissue - it’s had something of a dashing makeover; remastered from the original analogue master tapes and comes with a superb brain food/eye candy booklet. As for the music, well, forty years after it was created it still sounds like phantoms have artificially inseminated my mind or like I’ve been vaporized and absorbed into some intergalactic weather system. And… into the trash goes my naughty 256kbps mp3.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.