Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Pacific Rhythm might be a young label - at the time of writing (July 2018) their Discogs numbers fewer than ten releases - but the Vancouver outfit have already forged a reputation as selectors of impeccable taste. To a roster that includes superb drops from Flørist and D. Tiffany we can now add a vinyl pressing of Khotin’s 2017 cassette New Tab. This ten-track release is a collection of lo-fi synth ditties that sound like the Balearic beats of Tiffany with the drums stripped out. Cerebral and lovely.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Double LP £15.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • PR002
  • PR002 / 2LP on Pacific Rhythm

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



New Tab by Khotin
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 26 July 2018

I currently have five tabs up and they’re all related to Khotin’s record, so shame on me. As a hoarder of background digital info I can tell that they’re using this record to reduce my intake and sooth my online stress, crafting a record of lo-fi bliss that hides things like train commutes and work deadlines behind an environment of flowers and swimming pools. The opener is an absolute slow-mo musical hug, sampling train announcements but drenching them in sustained chords and calm but playful melodies that make me feel like I’m dozing off in an empty carriage.

Khotin’s productions are woozy and lovely, ambient tunes that whittle away time in the way a long holiday spent doing nothing does: it feels restorative to simply pause yourself in a timeframe that leaves you behind. As the record introduces beatwork, it stays the same, the rhythms low-key, muffled by friendly sampled conversations and twinkling melody fragments. “Dialogue 6” sounds like the new age of CFCF happening on a video game city street; the abstract bloops and dials of “Dotty” are met with gorgeous, sand-sinking chords, with simple, humane conversations petering out without care or consequence.

Just lovely. Loveliness that feels almost alien when you’re on the fourth day of fifth in the working world. It’s an earthy, urban reality of people that Khotin makes feel astral, a kinda spacey world we should all go to sometime, if only we could push our responsibilities into the forgotten dead-ends of our brain, like he does.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.