Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 6 people love this record: be the 7th!

Do bands still get 'signed' to labels in our year of the lord 2018? If so, Joyfultalk is the newest contract artist for the unimpeachable Constellation Records, the experimental Montreal imprint that seem to be deep-diving into electronic music of late. A project of electronic artist Jay Crocker, Pluraity Trip is a honing of kosmische music, sublimating dance and glitch into a new, cerebral whole.

  • LP £19.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 195 ?
  • CST134LP / 180g vinyl LP on Constellation. Includes 12”x24” art print poster
  • Includes download code
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Plurality Trip by Joyfultalk
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 22 August 2018

Canada’s brightest ever star, Constellation Records have propped up numerous new artists in recent years, tipping the scales in favour of experiments with dance and electro-acoustic. It is quite mad to think that the label that put post-rock on the map is now releasing bona fide banging techno, but maybe it’s not that mad at all. In their most recent ‘signing’ (if such a thing can really exist in the year of our Bandcamp), they’ve found an absolute gem: Jay Crocker, a synth-hoarding busybody able to create pindrop productions.

With shimmering kosmische as his backdrop and back-up plan, Crocker absolutely steamrolls his listener, offering the uncompromising synth jitter of “Monocult”, an ominous but endlessly head-banging smash of unrelenting synthlines, hissing percussive snaps and subliminal ghost drones. It’s a hyperspeed churn occasionally and abruptly broken up by a counterfactual rhythm, one that rolls back into the song as if it didn’t do anything wrong.

Really Joyfultalk’s drumwork is a collage of the linear and anachronistic, with tunes like “Peace Fight” lazily laundering drums amidst bitty found sound and broken dials. It’s like Future Sound of London with modern mastering. Each track is placed quite effortlessly in the best possible place, Crocker giving these songs the open-air space they need to become busy, brash ecosystems. Fans of techno, kosmische and well-placed noise will fall in love with this record: it’s reverent, playful and blistering all at once, utterly evil as a halo falls on its head.





What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.