Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

The new µ-Ziq EP is in fact full of old µ-Ziq, sourced from the deep dark archives kept by Mike Paradinas. Apparently this D-Funk material is from the good old days, never before heard on any stereo but Mike’s. Accordingly the energy and beat count is extremely high. You already know you need this right? Four tracks on 12” wax, from Analogical Force.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • 12" £11.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 120 ?
  • AF015 / Limited edition silver coloured vinyl 4-track 12" EP on Analogical Force

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


D Funk EP by µ-Ziq
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!
9/10 Ant Staff review, 18 July 2018

Mike Paradinas ain't done yet digging through his archives - his last four albums were archival releases and why the hell not? The man has been sat on a shit tonne of quality gear all this time - best it see the light of day than rot on DATs. He must have been extraordinarily prolific back in the day. I get the impression he was on such a roll during that golden '93 / '94 'Tango N' Vectif' / 'Bluff Limbo', Rephlex era that he was relentlessly knocking out an endless amount of high-quality material - those first two albums being weighty doubles. I’m no archaeologist, but I’d date the tracks that comprise this ‘D Funk’ EP to roughly somewhere around that time.

My first knowledge of µ-Ziq came from a fiend that once saw him around that time playing at The Orbit and relayed the tale to me of how some “long hair heavy metal looking geek” twisted his mind with an assault of “fucking insane crunchy alien beats”. His face spasmodically contorting in excitement and confusion as he tried to karaoke beatbox some semblance of what he’d witnessed. I’ve had a soft spot for µ-Ziq ever since.

Anyway, here we get four cuts that certainly wouldn’t have been out of place on either of the aforementioned albums. ‘Drocovums’ is all crisp, snappy, futuristic B-boy beats, trippy bleeps, melodic chimes and eerie strings before a slight threat of blowing up into acid mayhem towards the end. ‘D Funk’ has a manic intensity with its itchy drums, shrieking loop and slight Drexciyan edge - not dissimilar to the vibe on those two excellent Frost Jockey EPs. Meanwhile, ‘Brittle’ has a dramatic string thing happening that recalls Mike Dred and Peter Green’s Machine Codes / Rephlex collaborations. ‘Tricolore’ is a right head-shagger that’s like being stalked in some sinister cyborg zombie nightmare before it transforms and blossoms into this really pretty, lush tune, but still retains an air of menace. Looks pretty damn sexual on silver wax to boot.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.