Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Former Skater and hypnagogic king James Ferraro presents a new chunk of work this year, in the form of four-part epic: this release, Four Pieces For Mirai, offers a preview of the larger work. A jumpy swirl of audio datas, with fleeting appearances of all sorts of genres, creates a powerful and ultra-modern atmosphere. Tape released by Ferraro himself.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Tape £9.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.60 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • / Self-released tape. Limited edition of 250 copies
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Four Pieces For Mirai by James Ferraro
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
7/10 Ant Staff review, 13 June 2018

James Ferraro has a knack for taking disparate elements of music that would be considered dreadfully uncool and way off contemporary radars, and remoulding them into his own vision to fit his imaginative and often wild and thought-provoking concepts.

He’s the man that sifts through unwanted garbage and reassembles it into something desirable. He did it and inspired a whole generation with the whole hypnagogic pop and vaporwave movements. He’s done it again with ‘Four Pieces For Mirai’, the first of a four-part work on the decline of civilisation where humans are slaves to digital networks that must be destroyed by malware... or something. Sounds like a great sci-fi flick but is kinda too real. He takes medieval music, renaissance music, samples, and other more organic sounds and fuses them with technoid electronics to build something that sounds like the very weeping of humanity across the ages - at times integrated with technology and plagued by it at others.

Not sure how often I’d wanna hear this particular tape again in isolation, but in the context of it forming part of a larger work, it’s intriguing and suggests an immersive and accomplished project as a whole.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.