Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Sound In Silence tend to do a good job with their releases. They’re always short runs that are delightfully compiled in handmade packaging. Real labours of love. This latest one, a long-player called Anything Is Possible, comes courtesy of Mancunian Ben Rath. It’s a collection of warm, wistful drones that will appeal to fans of Fennesz and Tim Hecker. Comes handcrafted, of course.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • CD £10.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • / CDr on Sound In Silence. Limited edition of 150 handmade and hand-numbered copies. Packaged in a hand-stamped cardboard envelope with the front cover image printed on a polaroid style photo paper

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Anything Is Possible by Ben Rath
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 05 June 2018

Hand-compiled balmy drone plus hand-assembled fawn card packaging; it must be hand-crafted Sound In Silence. Their latest missive of love for the natural -- via both organic and inorganic means -- comes tumbling and rolling at us via Ben Rath, who informs us that ‘Anything Is Possible’; that’s quite a statement coming from a Mancunian. Perhaps it’s all that overcast gloom and unceasing rain they get there… perhaps it’s their creaking public transport system… but anyhow, whatever the reason Ben has looked deep within himself and listened to his heart when drawing from his well to bring to all of us his tender electronic drone suffused with emotion, brimming with strummed guitars, overflowing with soul.

Rath gives us ambient drones in droves; layers of sound which build to Tim Hecker-meets-MBV intensity before dropping back down to Fennesz / Sakamoto moments of contemplative near-silence, like the stillness between the waves. There’s a tangible sense of the deeply spiritual and the Interconnectedness of all Things spreading through this music; a feeling at least partly indicated by track titles like ‘Flow Of Creation’, ‘All Part Of One’ and ‘Sacred’ -- at this midpoint in proceedings Rath and his machines reach the apotheosis of their feelings-through-sounds; a richly resonating, profoundly harmonious blend of vibrations which sync up with this reviewer’s mid-morning post-caffeinated brainwaves.

And yet I’m still (just about) able to type this, and convey to you this message: I like these sounds, in fact I like them a lot, they’re very very nice and I now feel as light as a feather.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

We use cookies and we send emails. (You can always change your mind later.)