Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | Only 1 person has said they love this record: be the 2nd!

Changes were afoot when Teenage Fanclub recorded their 7th album, Howdy. The band recorded an album themselves for the first time (in Dave Gilmour’s studio, no less), the addition of Finlay MacDonald on keyboards meant the band became a five-piece and Creation Records was in the process of being swallowed whole by Sony. The bands ear for a good song remained undiminished though - Dumb Dumb Dumb, My Uptight Life and Near You are some of the ingredients that make this a great listen.

  • LP £19.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 195 ?
  • 19075837031 / 180g vinyl reissue LP, remastered from the original tapes at Abbey Road. Initial pressing includes bonus 7" subject to availability
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Howdy! by Teenage Fanclub
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!

8/10 Clive Davis Customer review, 24th May 2018

This was a real slow burner for me. The lead single and opening track, I Need Direction was brilliant and typical of Gerry Love's Byrds-influenced indie pop, it promised a great deal. When I first heard the whole album, however, it sounded a bit flat. With hindsight it marked their new, gentler direction that they've carried on into their later, more grown-up albums. Accidental Life has a beautiful, paisley underground sound, reminiscent of The Rain Parade. Dumb Dumb Dumb is closer to the Norman Blake-penned paradigm making it one of the more immediate tracks on the album. The Town And The City really ups the '60s Byrds influenced sound, yet is another of the tracks, like Accidental Life that just didn't hit me at first. My Uptight Life is Raymond McGinley's best contribution to what is and album you need to spend a bit bit of time with to really appreciate. Rather than flooring you with one punch, it will cuddle you into submission.


Teenage Fanclub - Vinyl Reissues Announcement - YouTube



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.