Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Grand Prix is the album on which Teenage Fanclub perfected their chiming and charming indie rock-cum-power pop sound. Originally released in 1995 on the legendary and now defunct Creation label, the Glaswegian band stepped it up in terms of songwriting and production. Includes Sparky’s Dream and Mellow Doubt. Initial pressings come with a bonus 7” single.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £19.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-5 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 195 ?
  • 19075837051 / 180g vinyl reissue LP, remastered from the original tapes at Abbey Road. Initial pressing includes bonus 7" subject to availability

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-5 days but delays are possible.


Grand Prix by Teenage Fanclub
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!

9/10 Tom Customer review, 21st May 2018

Grand Prix, the fifth Teenage Fanclub album, was released in 1995, around the time that grunge died and Britpop began to rear its ugly head. And while I'm loathe to lump Teenage Fanclub in with the jingoistic wave of laddish pub rock that would soon rule the airwaves, there's little doubt that they had an influence on some of those bands.

Simply put, Grand Prix is an incredible collection of immaculately arranged pop songs. Blessed with three fantastic songwriters in Norman Blake, Gerard Love, and Raymond McGinley, Teenage Fanclub don't put a foot wrong on these 13 songs and some of them rank among their best ("Sparky's Dream", "Mellow Doubt", "Neil Jung", "Don't Look Back" - I could name more). Indeed, you could make the case that this was their last truly essential album.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.