Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Captured Tracks have captured some more tracks (ahem) from Catalan outfit MOURN. Twelve febrile, jittery post-punk numbers here, with Sorpresa Familia set to please anyone who enjoyed last year’s live-wire Over The Wall EP. Manages to recall all of Good Throb, Pissed Jeans and Shopping, which is impressive. There’s also a song called ‘Bye, Imbecile!’.

  • LP £21.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 215 ?
  • CT278LP / LP on Captured Tracks
  • Includes download code
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £12.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 130 ?
  • CT278CD / CD on Captured Tracks

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Sorpresa Familia by Mourn
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 13 June 2018

Okay this is fun. “Barcelona City Tour” is how I would like all the quasy-gnarly noise rock boy bands of the past to actually sound: angular but driving with gang vocal chants that come completely out of leftfield instead of languishing through the whole thing. Despite its brash punky feel, Mourn’s opener for ‘Sopresa Familia’ is one of the year’s best pop songs, driving by on simple guitar parts before fully yelling in your face about it all. Very good.

I don’t know if I’m misremembering Mourn or if they were always this earth-scorching, but here they sound incensed, taking the blank-stare of ‘Ha, Ha, He.’ and bringing massive, garage rock tunes to it, the kind exploding with enough energy to make up for their economical set-up. Riffs on “Skeleton” sound somewhere between Fugazi and Sleater-Kinney, bouncy, mathy and tasteless in one push. “Strange Ones” has the kind of emo hxc melody of Husker Du played with fuzz and fever, the drums paving the way for an absolutely gorgeous guitar duel that sounds, even from within this loud as hell record, super heartbreaking.

Mourn have probably always sounded this good so forgive me for my indifference. I’m not finding one song I can fault on this record, and that comes from its rocksteady approach to being capital l Loud. Even on the slower, more meditative songs, the record keeps the appropriate mixing in your areas: “Orange” is one of the record’s more decorative songs, with a ricocheting guitar line that sounds stolen from an early Interpol tune, but it stays at the level all Mourn songs must stay at, furious and on the brink of finale.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.