Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Taken from the recordings the late Mika Vainio made on his visit to the Moog Sound-lab in 2015, it's Lydspor One & Two. Lydspor is Danish for soundtrack, and here -- available for the first time, on two sides of vinyl and CD edition -- are the tracks documenting Vainio's tinkerings with the prototype Moog Modular System 55, a reverse-engineered edition replicating the 1970s classic synth. A second session was planned but sadly Vainio died before that could happen. The record is thus a fitting memorial to a wonderfully gifted, softly spoken man. On Moog Recordings Library.

  • LP £15.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 155 ?
  • RDM109 / Limited edition LP on Moog Recordings Library
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £11.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 115 ?
  • RDM109CD / Limited edition CD on Moog Recordings Library

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Lydspor One & Two (Blue TB7 Series) by Mika Vainio
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!
9/10 Ant Staff review, 14 June 2018

Never thought I’d be writing about another posthumous Mika Vainio record after the world sadly lost him in 2017. I so wasn’t expecting more material after ‘Reat’ but here we are with a record in the Moog Recordings Library series. You all know by now I’m a massive Vainio fan, so this one’s a bit special. Therefore I’ve been a very good boy and exercised some deferred gratification and restrained myself from playing this record at meagre volume levels. Pitiful volume on Vainio records just doesn’t cut it. My mother taught me to always be considerate to others and so I’ve waited very patiently for the opportunity to crank up this sucka full fucking BLAST. There’s not a soul in the house and the neighbours are out earning a crust. Time to properly blow my brains out…

What’s immediately apparent about these two side long tracks is that despite the fact that Vainio wasn’t using his usual tools in his own studio, (he almost exclusively utilized the Moog Modular System 55) it just totally has his very distinctive, relentless sound. Once he gets going from the eerie twinkles of the opening moments, he builds up a dense, buzzing wall of sound which retreats and makes way for a weighty drum pulse which is clearly in time but the surrounding noise gives it a really doomy, arrhythmic, impending heart attack quality. Things get pretty intense from here with window-rattling sub bass that morphs into a gorgeous deep, fluttering drone that I could happily live inside for hours. Just my luck it would have to bloody well stop just as my brain is getting a proper massage.

Once things get going on the second side, we get some more deep, throbbing low end and insectoid ticking rhythm before things get well and truly zoned. The last five minutes are particularly stirring, but again sadly end just as my pleasure is peaking. This record feels like such a tease and I get the impression that what we get are edits of a much larger, greater thing, possibly compromised by the running time limitations of vinyl. I’m not complaining though - I’ll gratefully take it.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

We use cookies and we send emails.
Accept the lot Make tedious decisions
(You can always change your mind later.)