Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | Only 1 person has said they love this record: be the 2nd!

Firestations are the latest outfit to emerge from the ever interesting Lost Map stable and this debut features a brand of nice-listen indie pop with perky melodies, sunshiny vibes and unthreatening subject manner. So pleasant and harmony drenched that it's hard to imagine it being recorded in Walthamstow.  

  • LP £15.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 160 ?
  • / Blue coloured vinyl LP on Lost Map
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


The Year Dot by Firestations
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 11 April 2018

Firestations reckon they write nice songs then mess them up but on opener 'Build a Building' I can't hear much messing up. In fact it's a rather lovely slice of harmonic kraut pop which reminds me of Astronauts or Teleman.  In fact 'Make Your Mind Up' is even more like Teleman......hang on.....hang on.

Stop the review. 

I'm on the wrong side. Well that was a very strong start to Side 2 so I'm now expecting lots from Side 1 and it's....good....but maybe not as good as Side 2 which I was really enjoying. It's more melodic guitar led pop music with glacial keyboards and simple rhythmic drumming. Firestations songs have a pulse to them  - they play their songs simply and clear with a touch of Neu-like rhythm like Stereolab used to I guess - no complications - letting the songs speak for themselves. This is breezy, nice music full of harmonies and with a really understated charm to it - the way their voices blend reminds me of how the voices used to blend on Tunng records. So soft. 

Having listened to Side 2 again I'm convinced that here is where they hit their stride but it's all very pleasant indeed.  



Firestations - 'Receiver' (Official Video) - YouTube



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.