Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Few best ofs from the psychedelic era retain their usefulness as well as Relics - an ironic title, given that it almost apologises for four-year-old material that’s now half a century old. The 1971 compilation compiled the essential Syd Barrett-era singles See Emily Play and Arnold Layne along with choice album tracks and b-sides. The latter include the original version of Careful with That Axe, Eugene, Roger Waters’ Julia Dream, and Rick Wright’s Paintbox. In fact Wright emerges as the surprise hero with that track and the lovely Remember a Day, as Waters is still finding his feet with the then previously unreleased Biding My Time. Floyd’s struggle to find a direction following Barrett’s departure yielded mixed results, but this comp remains a cohesive listen, with impeccable track selections and sequencing.

  • LP £18.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • 0190295996918 / Remastered 180g vinyl LP on Pink Floyd Records
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Relics by Pink Floyd
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

9/10 Andrew Customer review, 27th March 2018

I couldn't agree more with your review Norman chaps. Maybe it's because I bought this on tape when I was only 18/19 and it's therefore retained that heavy swoon of nostalgia, I don't know, but I adore this record.

From start to end the track listing is, as mentioned, impeccable, creating a perfect introduction to the genius of Syd Barrett and the early experimentation (good and bad) of the post-Syd Floyd before they became the behemoth that ultimately destroyed them post 'Dark Side'.

I too think Rick Wright steals the show, his voice complements Barrett's perfectly and his own compositions are quite simply lovely.

Arguably the best compilation ever? Well certainly the best one I can think of at this moment in time on a drab Tuesday...


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.