Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

  • Kompakt / Kompaktcd145 / Kompakt386
  • Add Kompakt to your favourites
2 reviews | 6 people love this record: be the 7th!

You wait years for a new GAS album and two come along (almost) at once. Hot on the heels of last year's 'Narkopop' this is a different kettle of fish altogether, consisting of one long track which you are meant to listen to in one sitting. Wolfgang Voigt's work is ideal for this long form presentation. He's possibly less good at poetry though, so we won't reproduce in full the poem he's written to accompany the work.

  • CD £11.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 115 ?
  • Kompaktcd145 / CD on Kompakt
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • Double LP £22.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 7 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 225 ?
  • Kompakt386 / 2LP on Kompakt
  • Includes download code

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 7 days but delays are possible.


Rausch by GAS
2 reviews. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 21 May 2018

It can be a case of careful what you wish for. Wolfgang Voigt's legendary project was safely confined to the murk of history. The records there as a kind of high water mark example of how to make supreme dub techno and waiting to be discovered by all kinds of latecomers. 

But very few can resist the lure of the comeback and last year Voigt released 'Narkopop' his first album under the GAS moniker in 15 years. For most listeners it seemed that the record lived up to expectations but for some of us here we found it slightly lacklustre compared to the classic era records. Some wonderful highlights definitely but with something missing. Now hot on it's heels comes 'Rausch'  - a piece designed by Voigt to be listened to in one sitting. 

If you weren't sure about the discordant parts of 'Narkopop' then it might be best to look away now. Voigt has discovered the syn-trumpet button on his keyboard and is sure as hell going to use it. The record is slathered in a kind of delayed orchestral brass section.  Again like 'Narkopop' I'm missing the worn rustiness of previous work  - the soft sounds have been replaced by something more metallic.  Over the records 60 minutes I found periods where I was entranced and lost in the music and other sections where I was bored and wanted to turn off. 

As always it's good to hear new work from Voigt but I'm unsure if 'Rausch' stands alone as a work in the same way as his previous albums do - it seems like an add on to 'Narkopop' in a way. For fans of GAS there's 60 more minutes of blurred ambience and murky beats here to digest. I just feel that again there's the sense that Voigt is going through the motions. The closing piece here is a remarkably lovely loop with a rare snare drum rattling along but then in coming  - those discordant trumpets again and you start to wonder how many ideas he has left and whether a 60 minute continuous piece was really necessary.                                                 

8/10 Peter Customer rating (no review), 15th June 2018


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.