Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Tri Angle / TRI043
  • Add mmph to your favourites
  • Add Tri Angle to your favourites
1 review »

Young South Korean Bostonian mmph (one Sae Heum Han) wanders through uneasy drama-scapes on his debut mini-album Dear God for Tri Angle. Momentary brushes of stereo-flitting textures, stop-start percussion and other sounds processed beyond recognition are guided by ebbs of cinematic synth and sampler. Serious stuff.

  • LP £10.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 105 ?
  • TRI043 / 5-track EP on Tri Angle
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Dear God by mmph
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 11 April 2018

Hello. So, this mmph seems like an intense, deep and reflective chap. Seoul-born, Boston resident Sae Heum Han was classically trained as a child and as a cellist went on to study music performance at world-renowned Berklee College. He’s now using electronics to express himself, and this work -- Dear God, his debut EP on Tri Angle Records --  is quite a statement. Previously available as a blink-and-you’ll-miss-it cassette last year, this collection of 5 tracks is stunning: vital, effervescent; overflowing with optimism and heading toward catharsis yet racked with lovelorn, wrenching, harrowing emotions.

Considering the pain and heartbreak this young guy has been through -- personal tragedies, love and loss of those close to him -- it’s an achievement to have made something so beautiful and uplifting. Han’s sound design chops match his compositional skills with the effect that he has successfully channeled some clear inspirations -- Oneohtrix, Arca and Nicolas Jaar among them -- in a way that hasn’t hindered his sense of classical structure. There’s a pure order amid the assorted stereo-flitting bombardment of noise, storm and drive. Really promising stuff.


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

We use cookies and we send emails.
Accept the lot Make tedious decisions
(You can always change your mind later.)