Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Rolando Simmons finally gets his first full-length LP release -- on lovely 3-colour, marbled double vinyl no less -- and boy has it been worth the wait! The Swedish producer Mattias -- behind this music beloved of Aphex Twin and both their legions of fans -- has assembled 11 tracks packed with melody and melancholy, aching pads and grooving, punchy bass. World Building pulses with a beauty and squelchy character all its own, from its foundations up, and we here at Norman are excited!

  • Double LP £18.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 185 ?
  • LOVLP02 / Three colour marble vinyl 2LP on Love Love Records, housed in gatefold sleeve

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


World Building by Rolando Simmons 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!

8/10 Staff review, 22 March 2018

Rolando Simmons (real name Mattias Östling) was trotting about doing his own thing when Aphex Twin dropped one of his tracks at some live thing or other then suddenly his little analogue world turns upside down. 

This is his debut full length following the earlier sold out 'Yuo're Life' EP and his is a dreamier less punch sound than Aphex Twin but the opening Whisper and Laugh will be perfect fodder for those desperately missing the more melodic side of the Rephlex stable. It's a lovely little composition of melodic bass and keys, simple drum pattern and just the right smidgeon of acid squelch. It doesn't knock you out of your seat like a lot of Aphex tracks but it's politely beautiful. 

Tough to live up to such a good opening track but Simmons defects attention by trying out a myriad of styles over the course of the four sides. From the 'Selected Ambient Works ish 'Free Analogue' to 'Uncertainty Pond' with it's nods back to Plaid and 'Clocks' with its nods towards Kraftwerk and the beautiful slowly building hauntology of 'The Girl of Uchter Moor'.  The album has a very soft almost cushioned production which means that none of the ideas are harsh on the ears. It does mean though that there's no real killer tracks here apart from the opening piece and for all of the beautifully constructed composition and attention to retro detail bloops and beats I felt that there weren't enough really memorable moments across the entire LP. 

A smorgasbord of delight for fans of Aphex/Rephlex/Skam though from a producer with a thoughtful and varied palette of electronic sound. 





Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.