Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Excitingly, Oly Ralfe has taken some time away from Ralfe Band to launch his debut solo LP -- entitled Notes From Another Sea -- for Ghost Ship records. Expect an instrumental piano album featuring pleasingly, harmoniously undulating piano lines to echo the shapes of the waves and tides of the ocean. Ralfe is also an accomplished visual artist and filmmaker. Talented chap.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £18.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 185 ?
  • GSR003LP / LP on Ghost Ship. Limited edition of 500 hand-numbered copies

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • GSR003CD / CD on Ghost Ship

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


Notes From Another Sea by Oly Ralfe
1 review. Add your own review.
10 people love this record. Be the 11th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 10 April 2018

Oly Ralfe (of Ralfe Band) is truly showing himself off in a bright light here, on his debut solo album. That light is reflected and refracted in the clear composition and crystalline piano played by Ralfe throughout ‘Notes From Another Sea’. Yes, it’s a solo piano album. But it’s a piano album characterised by beautiful melodies and delicate, lyrical playing.

Ralfe's piano is very, very softly played, and intimately mic’d so you can hear the soft creaking of Ralfe’s chair, the piano pedals and even the brushing of the keys, particularly on perfectly tranquil moments -- see ‘Glider’; with Barney Morse-Brown accompanying on cello. What a blissful combination they make. ‘Lantern Waltz’ and ‘The Swallow Sleeps All Winter’ are two extraordinarily pretty examples, reminding me of the more kindly moments of A Winged Victory For The Sullen, or perhaps erstwhile Nils Frahm (particularly his ‘Screws’ LP).

A paradoxically sleepy yet engaging album of mellow, sunlit instrumental music.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.