Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

2 reviews | 4 people love this record: be the 5th!

Sordid Sound System promises Psychedelic Dungeon Disco here, and boy is that promise realised. Four tracks, which are all pretty vivid and blasted, with the possible exception of Die Ewige Nacht, which is a bit more chilled out. Vol. IV in this series, recorded in Glasgow rather than California, is out on Invisible, Inc.

  • 12" £10.49
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • INVINC18
  • INVINC18 / 4-track 12" EP on Invisible, Inc.

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Sordid Sound System - Psychedelic Dungeon Disco Vol. IV - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Psychedelic Dungeon Disco Vol. IV by Sordid Sound System
2 reviews. Add your own review.
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!
8/10 Daoud Staff review, 12 April 2018

Look, the best measure of whether or not a bit of dance music is any good is how much I wish I were in a club while listening to it. And good as the Official Norman Records Review Station Headphones™ are, Sordid Sound System’s Psychedelic Dungeon Disco Vol. IV is making me wish I was at a disco in a dungeon being absolutely throttled by a decent sound system.

This is especially true of track one, ‘Die Ewige Nacht’. Holy shit what an overwhelmingly positive bit of music. The kind that gets you bouncing up and down in your office chair and a body high entirely inappropriate for 3 o’clock on a Thursday. The track is propelled by a bouncing cowbell rhythm, each ‘hit’ providing a little serotonin rush. And to balance it out, throbbing bass that manages to come in when you’re least expecting it, but most need it.

The second and third tracks, ‘Crescent City’ and ‘Dia De Muertos’, though less spectacular than track one, are the more typical work-horse club track. They still make good on the promise of being ‘psychedelic’, they’re both pock-marked with reverby sounds, but they’re more warm up set than peak hours. Finally, there's ‘You & Me’, proper ‘bad trip’ music. Slow and slurried, whispered vocals and echoey guitar. This’ll go down well with the psych-rock fans in the room.

I probably wouldn’t recommend listening to the record through in one go, but then again, it’s not meant to be. What I hope is that some talented DJs find a place for this versatile EP in their record boxes and play out the tracks at a night I’m at.

9/10 Daniel Customer rating (no review), 25th April 2018


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.