Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

French singer-songwriter Maud Nadal releases the debut LP from her Helo Maud project via Heavenly. Nadal's time as a touring member of Melody’s Echo Chamber and Moodoid have clearly had some influence on the Paris-based artist. Tracks like ‘Tu Sais Comme Je Suis’ and ‘Baptism’ are lovely, dreamy psych-pop takes that balance retro compositional sensibilities with modern production chops.

  • LP £15.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 155 ?
  • HVNLP155C / White vinyl LP on Heavenly. Includes obi strip
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • HVNLP155CD / CD on Heavenly
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Je Suis Une Île by Halo Maud
1 review. Add your own review.
6 people love this record. Be the 7th!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 22 May 2018

She was part of the French dream pop scene that spawned Melody's Echo Chamber so that should give you some idea of where this French songwriter is coming from. She mainly sings in her native tongue rather than a language I can understand but this doesn't matter on excellent little pop songs such as 'Du Pouvoir/Power' which has a lovely infectious melody broadcast by her distinctive voice which sits somewhere between Bjork and a squeak of the blades of a Qualcast Panther.     

The album is lushly produced with lots of modern day production touches without ever sounding too clean or cheesy. This lovely sound is a perfect fit for these strange wandering songs. I really like 'Surprise' a mid paced offering with the sort of fluttery wordless chorus that Liz Fraser would once rattle out. The track has enough chord and key changes to fell a horse and keeps the listener's attention by way of you never quite knowing where it's going next. There always seems to be something up it's sleeve.   

The album is an interesting thing indeed. Once it has the pop songs out the way it heads off in some unexpected directions. 'De Retour' has some lovely 'Another Green World' style ambience whilst 'Je Suis Une Ile' is almost spoken word. Whether this experimentalism suggests she couldn't quite fill an album full of original songs I'm not sure but if we were worried she was heading off too much in a tangent there's enough lovely stuff knocking about to compensate. I adore 'Proche Proche Proche' a sort of krauty thing that sounds sort of like Can collaborating with Blonde Redhead ...but better. 

I'm sitting on the fence with my 7 as there were a few bits amongst the glory that didn't hit true but I want to give this more listens. It's most impressive. 


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.