Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

It’s taken five years but Daniel Avery’s follow-up to the well-received Drone Logic is finally here. Song For Alpha mixes techno and rave-inspired tunes with gentle ambient soundscapes effortlessly. It recalls the avant-garde ambient of William Basinski, Warp’s early ‘90s Artificial Intelligence compilations and some Brian Eno. Double LP and CD on Phantasy Sound.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • Double LP £17.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 180 ?
  • PHLP09 / 2LP on Phantasy Sound
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £9.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 100 ?
  • PHLP09CD / CD on Phantasy Sound

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • Double LP £27.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • PHLP09X
  • PHLP09X / 2LP on Phantasy Sound + limited edition bonus 10" housed in black bag
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Song For Alpha by Daniel Avery
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 05 April 2018

I know it's hard to believe because I work in a record shop but I have absolutely no idea who Daniel Avery is. Probably because his breakthrough record 'Drone Logic' was released five years ago and I don't even remember what I had for tea yesterday. So although you might mock, at least I came into listening to this record with zero expectations. 

I've listened to it a few times in the office now and the thing is.....I love it! It's a great blend of retro/nostalgic sounding electronica which takes a magpie-like influence from all manner of 90s and 2000's leftfield dance music. I hear bits from everywhere  - certainly the early Warp records, Orbital, Aphex Twin, Sabres of Paradise, 808 State. 

The album plays like a mix tape, upbeat pumping techno sits side by side with gentle 'Selected Ambient Works' style ambience and it all has a beautifully corroded feel as if Avery has put a lot of his favourite tracks onto a tape and dubbed it off for his friends. It often all seems worryingly familiar  - almost as if you have heard these songs before but I think this is the key to the success of Avery's work. It taps into your memories and nostalgia for old school electronica but it's new and full of surprises and although he produces a wide variety of sounds it blends beautifully.   



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.