Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Gravel voiced troubadour E and his Eels return for a new album that is described as long awaited but it's only been four years which doesn't really seem that long ago. That said the world is very different these days and I'm sure E has a lot to growl out on the matter as he talks of finding beauty in a world full of hate. Wise words indeed. 

  • Double 10" £24.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 245 ?
  • EWORKS1150LP / Translucent yellow vinyl 2x10" on E Works
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £10.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 105 ?
  • EWORKS1150CD / Digipak CD on E Works

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.

  • LP box set £49.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • EWORKS1150LPX / Ltd box set incl. 2x translucent pink vinyl records in printed sleeves, CD, 28-page perfect bound lyric booklet with exclusive photos, 12” artwork print, A4 digital handwritten “Rusty Pipes” lyrics signed by E and E “Tip & Strip” pen
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


The Deconstruction by Eels
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
6/10 Robin Staff review, 04 April 2018

Mark E Everett went to Susan’s house (sorry, went over to Susan’s house) and she was like, dude, it’s been four years… you haven’t released an album about how in retrospective life is actually beautiful if you look around and appreciate things in a long time. E was like, yes, sure, I’m back baby, and his long, near-milestone of a hiatus was broken. And so here lies ‘The Deconstruction’, a record he claims “may not inspire, rock, or not rock you -- the world is going nuts, but there is still great beauty to be found”. Proof that all artists, even ones featured heavily in the ‘Shrek’ soundtrack, think we need their take on the current political climate.

If I want E to be anything it’s sErEne, which he is in spades on “The Deconstruction”, with guitar plucks that sound like they’ve come out of a toy music box; strings dance around the malady with unapologetic sweetness, opening the song up like they’re doors being swung open. Unfortunately, E’s last few records pivoted to his own personal brand of ASMR, so we still hear him mumbling as close to our ears as possible, nothing separating our ears from him and his tinny programmed beats. The song’s climax is welcome respite; both the morbid and marvelling versions of E’s career have come together at last.

“Premonition” is classic lullabE with an almost Sufjan outro of ghostly choiring; “Bone Dry” is the kind of snarking half-waltz rock song that he’s made on nearly every album he’s ever released. "Today is the Day" startles with the endless supply of questionable optimism we heard E sign off with on 'Tomorrow Morning' and 'Wonderful, Glorious'. If you’re looking for new ways that E could be, you’re not gonna get them here -- the world hasn’t changed so much as it’s reached its gnarliest conclusion, and E is the same as he’s ever been -- to the point, one might argue, of some parody. 


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.