Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

This Is Eggland, the new album from The Lovely Eggs sees the psych-punks working with a producer for the very first time, somewhat eschewing their DIY ethos. They haven’t chosen just any old producer either, they’ve gone for the man who remodeled the sound of The Flaming Lips and Mercury Rev, Dave Fridmann. The title is a pun on This Is England, the Shane Meadows film, and a comment on the current state of Britain. Thematically, the duo preach how living a non-conventional, non-conformist lifestyle is the best way to be.

  • LP £15.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 160 ?
  • EGG009LP / LP on Egg Records
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £11.49
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-3 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 115 ?
  • EGG009CD / CD on Egg Records

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-3 days but delays are possible.


This Is Eggland by The Lovely Eggs
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 21 February 2018

Will no-one think of the children? Cut ten years into the future the Lovely Eggs offspring are telling embattled therapists about their childhood on tour with one of England's most experimental rock bands. "I just wanted to play with my playstation but they made me do the merchandise". 

This time at least Lovely Eggs have shown some ambition past their usual pop punk racket - they've enlisted famed producer Dave Fridmann to produce. His sole job seemingly to add flange to everything is notable from opening duo 'Hello I Am Your Sun' and 'Wiggy Giggy' because it seems like he's left his drum compression machine at Flaming Lips studio. What we have instead is a dark and dirty album. These riffs are heavier than anything the Lovely Eggs have come up before and have a much more pronounced kraut/space-rock feel particularly on 'Dickhead' which sounds like Neu at 78rpm through a fuzzbox or a speed addled Status Quo  - take your pick. 

Basically it's people shouting with everything compressed to high heaven. Absolute Marc Riley fodder and although its bluesy riffs thrill, they are kind of relentless and there's a narrow dynamic range to the album which means your ears hurt about ten minutes in. Typical Fridmann I suppose. They could do with a couple more actual tunes but will be a different story live though when they blast these things out in small and sweaty clubs across great Britain. I hope they bought that kid some earmuffs.       




Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.