Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Out of print for far too long, Ghosts of the Great Highway is a timely reminder of the power and emotion Mark Kozelek's music once had. This was his first 'group' record post Red House Painters and is seen as one of his best. With a band featuring Anthony Koutsos (Red House Painters), Tim Mooney (American Music Club), the album fine tunes Kozelek's previous poetic sadcore with a healthy dose of Americana. Vinyl reissue contains original bonus track 'Gentle Moon'. 

  • Double LP £18.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 190 ?
  • RTRADLP885 / Reissue 2LP on Rough Trade
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Ghosts Of The Great Highway by Sun Kil Moon 1 review. Add your own review. 9/10
5 people love this record. Be the 6th!

9/10 Staff review, 14 February 2018

This prick again. Except not again; then. There was a time when Mark Kozelek’s music meant a whole lot more, when his voice was sweeter and his lyrics comparatively shorthanded. This was it. It was a time when we actually cared about his dad.

‘Ghosts of the Great Highway’ was his first record under the Sun Kil Moon moniker, having retired Red House Painters after ‘Old Ramon’. In a way, it feels like it was a long time coming -- I can see another world in which ‘Songs for a Blue Guitar’ would have been the first record under his Boxer alias, offering the very same nylon-string strums and pastoral affectations. Still, here it is, the first one, and the best Kozelek record by a country mile -- compared to the gruelling slowcore of old and the non-stop commotions of new, this record flies by, every moment an intuitive, melodic masterstroke. And it's still slow.

You could never expect me to listen to a fourteen minute Koz song in 2018, but I could happily listen to “Duk Koo Kim” forever -- its interplay of blue distortion, shambling nylon guitar and meandered emotional plea is all ‘Ghosts’ ever needed to be. I'm done wasting words on this phenomenal idiot now, but this record is the one -- and it comes with a bonus track that's just an acoustic version and definitely not a treatise on which local Ohian coffee shop has offended Kozelek's refined tastes this week.



When it comes to vinyl we're confident we can match any price. Read more.



Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7723 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.