Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Australian composer Panoptique Electrical (one Jason Sweeney) elists cellist Zoë Barry to accompany some of his gentle trips across the ivories for this limited Sound in Silence release. Inspired by his search for quiet spaces in several cities down under, Sweeney & Barry mirror the peacefulness of these few spots of respite. They do so, however, not without an obvious touch of mournful disdain for the ceaseless noise of civilisation.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • CD £10.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 110 ?
  • / CDr edition of 200 handmade and hand-numbered copies. Packaged in a hand-stamped dark green cardboard envelope with the front cover image printed on a polaroid style photo paper. Includes insert, download code coupon and a Sound In Silence card
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Quiet Ecology by Panoptique Electrical
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
8/10 Jamie Staff review, 13 December 2017

Jason Sweeney has kindly dusted down that old piano in the corner of his living room to bring you these soothing excursions across the ivories. Sweeney has even drafted in Zoë Barry to accompany him on cello for that added little extra pound of emotional heft, for his new album as Panoptique Electrical. Quiet Ecology is their attempt to reflect the tranquillity of the little hidden spaces within cities that Sweeney has somehow, magically found on his travels. I have no idea where Jason found these oases; he hasn’t quite found it within himself to reveal these details. Somewhere in Australia, if that helps.

With track titles like: ‘The World Is So Loud’; ‘In A Vow Of Silence’; ‘Footfalls’; ‘A Place With Trees’ however, Sweeney is giving just enough away to declare his monastic tendencies (and who doesn’t feel like getting away from all the people and noise, particularly at this most angst-driven and head-spinning time of year?). The music is remarkably still -- piano and cello doing just enough to put you in your own space, far away from the memory of David Attenborough’s heartfelt pleas that we all use our green bins more... for the 45-minute duration of the CD anyway.

A very limited release, on Sound In Silence in a handmade, hand-numbered package made of card; green, naturally, and probably from recycled materials.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.