Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

To celebrate the 20th anniversary of the release of his minimal Detroit track Rush Hour, Population One himself – AKA Terrence Dixon – has released a five-track 12-inch (via Rush Hour records), remixing tracks from his classic 1995 LP Hippnotic Culture. Dixon really amps up the energy here, reminding us why he's been at the top for so long. 

  • 12" £7.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 80 ?
  • RHM 026 / 12" on Rush Hour
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Hippnotic Culture Remixed by Population One 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

8/10 Staff review, 07 February 2018

Detroit’s Terrence Dixon unleashes five remixes of cuts from his 1995  ‘Hippnotic Culture’ album originally released on Claude Young’s Utensil label. The remix of ‘Rush Hour’ is absolutely astounding. It literally feels like I’m right in the eye of a ferocious storm - an immense, dense, frantic, urgent cut with all the intensity of ‘Waveform Transmission’ era Jeff Mills. The tension, the sheer pressure has me feeling like I’m about to combust into a cloud of cells. ‘Warped’ follows a more jagged, squirming and zig-zagging trajectory while ‘Cosmic Drill’ accelerates through the stars with weathered drums and sci-fi synth flourishes. ‘Lovechild’ is pure Population One magic with its peculiar, spacey groove and trippy, eerie loops like some sort of haunted music box. 'Lost In Space' utilises chiming bells to proper Hippnotic effect. Nobody does techno quite like Terrence Dixon, and here’s your evidence. Pure class.


When it comes to vinyl we're confident we can match any price. Read more.



Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7712 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.