Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

The sheer level of inventiveness on this record is almost too much to think about in any capacity, let alone a description this short. Suffice to say, those looking to explore an approach to modern electronic street music with a playful and abstract Jamaican twist should look here. You should look here now.

  • Double LP £17.99
  • Pre-order: ships when released ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 180 ?
  • DDS027 / Black vinyl repress 2LP on DDS

Pre-order. Due in on 20th March 2018 but delays are possible.


Colón Man by Equiknoxx 2 reviews. Add your own review. 9/10
8 people love this record. Be the 9th!

8/10 Staff review, 22 November 2017

Jamaica’s Equiknoxx return to Demdike Stare’s DDS label for the follow up to their ‘Bird Sound Power’ compilation. That particular record really boosted the work of producers Gavsborg and Time Cow - finding its way onto many 2016 End of Year lists, and recently received a pair of remixes from Basic Channel / Rhythm & Sound man Mark Ernestus.

So ‘Colón Man’ is actually their first proper album of all-new material. The record is bursting with twelve bouncing and bubbling cuts of their 21st Century vision of digital dancehall. If you're a DJ there's plenty to go at here as its chock full of stinging ‘riddims’ and a very canny approach to sampling. The rhythmic core of these tracks undoubtedly resides in their dancehall heritage but they take it in such an unconventional direction that looks forwards and never backwards. Generally speaking, it’s a far more technoid/futuristic version of dancehall with a glistening electronic sound palette and a far less linear approach to traditional dancehall rhythms. The spacious stripped back tracks occasionally borrow elements from hip-hop/trap, bleeping/abstract electronica etc. and sometimes have an eerie coldness as heard in ‘Sent For Ducklings Got Ducks’ for example. While other tunes are much more quirky, fun and humorous - I can almost imagine some weird Gabba Gabba Land type kids TV show creatures bouncing around to the Augustus Pablo on acid of ‘Melodica Badness’ or flabby wobbler 'Enter A Raffle Win A Falafel'. I wasn’t blown away by this album initially, but after repeated plays, it's really starting to work its subtle magic.

10/10 Customer rating (no review), 14th December 2017



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.