Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Sonic Pieces take a deep dive into avant-garde composition on this darkened release from We Like We. Consisting mainly of strings and voice, instruments are pulled around whilst vocal mantras keep pace beside them. Echoes of Eyvind Kang and Meredith Monk drift about, dropping out here and there for some more contemplative moments.

SoundCloud There is a sound clip for this item but you need to accept our functional cookies to hear it. Sorry!

  • LP £26.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • PATTERN005LP / Limited LP on Sonic Pieces. Edition of 500 copies in laser cut jacket with printed inner sleeve
  • Includes download code

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Next To The Entire All by We Like We
1 review. Add your own review.
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!
8/10 Robin Staff review, 29 November 2017

There’s just time to steal a review of a Sonic Pieces release before it sells out and it all becomes a moot point. Moulded from eloquent stringwork, icy percussion and a permeating vocal performance, this record offers active movements, the arrangements combining into an ornate melodrama.

It might be the most playful thing the label’s ever released, offering dashes of call-and-response violin and cello, whether melodic and striding or avant-garde in the gutter; the record moves between strands of uplift and soul-stealing horror, the percussion serving, in equal measure, as the sound of forward momentum and creepy crawlin’. At points, We Like We opt to take the clearest and most scenic of routes; at others they find creatures beyond the treeline.

Katinka Fog Vindelev is something of a narrating chorus, speaking and singing in such a way that it’s hard to tell whether she’s inflicting woe onto the songs or merely adapting to the tone. It’s a wonderfully symbiotic record, like that: the band follow eachother in tow to bright corners and desperate depths.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.

Privacy, cookies, etc.