Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Adrian Lim-Klumpes has plied his pianist’s trade at the helm of bands including Tangents and 3ofmillions, generally working in a jazz-informed milieu. But, as solo album Yield’s sub-heading Preludes & Fugues for Piano suggests, this is a more classically informed release, presenting crystal-clear ideas that stand and breath in the sound-space. On Off Records.

  • CD £8.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 85 ?
  • OCD036 / CD on Off Records

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Yield (Preludes & Fugues for Piano) by Adrian Lim-Klumpes 1 review. Add your own review. 9/10
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

9/10 Staff review, 21 November 2017

Adrian Lim-Klumpes has previously plied his piano-man trade in the bands Triosk (for the Leaf label) and most recently in Tangents, working the keys in a loose, jazzy way. Here, he’s solo, he’s at one with his Steinway Grand, he’s channeling Debussy; and it’s all sounding gently, delicately, breathtakingly gorgeous, on this CD: ‘Yield’.

Lim-Klumpes has subtitled his album, ‘Preludes and Fugues for Piano’, and they naturally follow in that order, sometimes within the same track: the pieces are concise but just last long enough to breathe and unravel their harmonic qualities and the composer’s intentions. Pieces build up slowly from soft micro-melodies, series upon series of notes slowly unspooling atop one another.

It’s a deceptive listen, at first: minimal, quiet, Harold Budd-ish taps of hammers on piano strings form the bedrock of something ultimately more statuesque yet graceful in structure. On ‘Watch’, notes drop softly, seemingly from the air as raindrops on a mild Spring’s day.  ‘Caution’ begins with ominous bottom-end rumbles which escalate to a full hammering as short sets of high notes are bashed out at the top end of the Steinway scale; it sounds like a storm is fast approaching and is very nearly upon us. It’s a wonderful collection of moods and timbres, any one of which the likes of William Basinskis of this world might have tried to eke out and loop to death; but not our Adrian, he’s busying himself with his next mini-masterpiece. Impressive.

A beautiful album of music for fans of the piano, its range and its ability to evoke feelings, as well as for the casual ambient / classical piano dabbler. Highly recommended.



Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7754 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.