Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Delete Beach is a short anime film that features an exclusive original soundtrack by Mica Levi, the polymath equally at home singing punky songs, DJing grime, or scoring pieces for London Sinfonietta. Synths and strings and jagged beats are Levi’s palette of choice here, creating an atmosphere that stands up on wax as well as with the visuals. Double 10”.

  • Double 10" £24.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £4.25 ?
  • NormanPoints: 250 ?
  • DDS024 / Limited edition repress of 500 copies 2x10" on DDS. Includes a deluxe 12-page 10" x 10" booklet with anime cells. Mastered & Cut by Matt Colton

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Delete Beach by Mica Levi 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
3 people love this record. Be the 4th!

8/10 Staff review, 07 February 2018

What an unbelievable treat this is. Mica Levi’s soundtrack to the beguiling ‘Delete Beach’ anime, brought to life by illustrator Marisuke Eguchi none other than artist Phil Collins -- although, actually, not the one you’re thinking of. Lovers of anime, rejoice; lovers of Mica Levi’s incredible compositional work, do the same. Enjoyers of a beautifully packaged double 10” -- please proceed to eating your heart out. Dog fans... there’s a drawing of one on the blurb.

Levi’s strange, disorienting and uncomfortably beautiful music for ‘Delete Beach’ is conducive to describing the hyper-political anime it’s set to. Staunchly anti-capitalist in plot, it details a schoolgirl resisting a society that bans carbon energy, in an ironic super-twist to the real life woes of environment. Making lovely use of strange industrial imagery and uncanny nighttime scenery, the film matches the jumbled vampirisms of Levi’s score, whose synths whirr, belch and rattle on “Interlude I” -- on its follow-up, she offers softer, more ruminative piano work to go with these screeching flecks of horror.

The other three tracks offered on this 10” are versions of “Delete Beach”, itself a sprawling mix of desperate melody, hissing drum snippets and electro-acoustic sound silence that all recalls the brilliance of Elysia Crampton. Words from the movie come in two separate versions, Japanese and English in turn, that detail the internal struggles of the movie’s resistance fighters. The atmosphere of this soundtrack is very much one of Levi's -- distorted, jagged and totally against.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.