Why shop with us? 0113 245 4399

1 review | 2 people love this record: be the 3rd!

Turtle aka Jon Cooper has drawn comparisons to Jon Hopkins, SOHN and Thom Yorke after releasing two EPs of his expansive and dynamic electronica in 2014 and 2015. A host of admirers in the shape of various 6music and Radio 1 DJs means the Glasgow-based musician is now able to stick his head up from the parapet and present his album, Human, to the world. Mint green vinyl on Beatnik Creative.

  • LP £15.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • BEATNC00050LP
  • BEATNC00050LP / Mint green coloured vinyl LP on Beatnik Creative

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.

There are some sold out formats for Turtle - Human - wanna see 'em?

SOLD OUT - Sorry

This one has sold out on all formats. Sorry! View them anyway?



Human by Turtle
1 review. Add your own review.
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!
8/10 Clinton Staff review, 13 December 2017

The title, the sleeve, the artist name are all things that might make you pass by this record without a cursory glance but you might be missing a treat. Glaswegian producer Jon Cooper makes the kind of widescreen 'everything's ok' electronica that is much needed in these times of world strife. He produces great billowing clouds of sound that often come across like a supersized Ulrich Schnauss and could also draw comparisons to Jon Hopkins brand of big telly soundscapes. Tracks like 'Fabric' show traces of a techno pulse but any underground influences are swallowed up in a kind of large scale canvas where he blurs the distinction between the band dynamics of a shoegaze band  such as Slowdive and the beat-led electronica of Bonobo.  

The album is totally unafraid to appeal to large groups of people. It has car-ad ready swathes of sound with some blindingly obvious Jamie XX style crowd-ready samples such as the "Give Me Life" refrain on 'Solar' and it's this that makes the album sometimes a bit obvious for my ears that scream for uniqueness. However, it's brilliantly put together and maybe we need some big musical statements at the moment in time. Get in on the ground floor as I suspect this will be popular.  


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.