Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

2 reviews »

What a winning scheme for an album: a varied bunch of musicians all gathered up together and given a week in a single space to make something. The line-up was Pictish Trail, James Yorkston, King Creosote, Lomond Campbell, Suhail Yusef Khan and the band Slow Club, adding up to a very eclectic supergroup indeed. Experimental Batch 26 contains the intriguing results. LP on Dewar House.

  • LP £19.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 200 ?
  • DEBSM26 / Limited LP on Dewar House. Edition of 500 copies
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


Experimental Batch 26 by Various 2 reviews. Add your own review. 9/10
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

8/10 Staff review, 10 November 2017

This was a Record Store Day 2014 item that appeared just a little too late for us to tell anyone about but now is out again on lovely vinyl.. Its an album of lovely folk music by a 'supergroup' of Fence types and related Scottish brethren. James Yorkston, Slow Club, Pictish Trail, King Creosote are just some of the names involved. What we get is an extremely varied album as each singer tends to take lead on their own material so what you end up is a smorgasboard of sounds that are wildly different but fit together nicely. It opens with one of the finest songs I've heard this year, I've not been a massive fan of King Creosote up until this point but here he excels on an insanely catchy piece of banjo led folky goodness. His voice is a glorious, youthful thing. You won't get it out of your head  - I'm warning you. When the melody re-appears and the gorgeous instrumental 'Future Divorces' later in the album its almost as good.  

James Yorkston sings lead on 'Honey on Thigh' and it sounds like......James Yorkston. 'Nothing' is a grandiose piece of folk led by the wonderfully monikered Lomond Campbell, mixed up in all this folky loveliness are a couple of tracks of eastern meditations by sanghari player Suhail Kusuf Khan. A lovely record that will be enjoyed by fans of the Eastern seaboard of Fife based folk.

9/10 Customer rating (no review), 8th December 2017


When it comes to vinyl we're confident we can match any price. Read more.



Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7743 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.