Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

4 reviews »

Swedish sister duo First Aid Kit return with their fourth album, Ruins. Previous albums have been increasingly more confident but their first album, with tracks like "Ghost Town", will be hard to beat for many early adopters of their music. They still have it though, so expect more assured songwriting, beautiful harmonies and foot-tapping sing-a-longs.

  • LP £17.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 180 ?
  • 88985493661 / LP on Columbia
  • Only 2 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.

  • CD £11.99
  • Not in stock / Usually ships in 2-5 days ?
  • Shipping cost: £1.00 ?
  • NormanPoints: 120 ?
  • 19075806012 / CD on Columbia

This item needs to be ordered in from a supplier.
Usually ships in 2-5 days but delays are possible.

  • LP £17.99
  • Sold out.
  • Shipping cost: n/a
  • NormanPoints: n/a
  • 19075811511
  • 19075811511 / Limited red coloured vinyl LP on Columbia. Edition of 2000 copies

Sold out. If you have recently ordered it and it is delayed, please check our order tracking tool for more information before trying to contact us.


Ruins by First Aid Kit 4 reviews. Add your own review. 8/10
2 people love this record. Be the 3rd!

7/10 Customer review, 25th January 2018

I may have bought this album out of a certain duty to First Aid Kit, or just for the sake of nerdy completeness in my own record collection, or perhaps just some automated thing in me that makes me click ‘add to basket’ when I see a new album by and artist I already own records by and have liked in the past. “The Big Black and The Blue” was great, as was their second LP “The Lion’s Roar”. Album number three, “Stay Gold” however, seemed too safe and nice and seemed to lack any real stand out moments, “Silver Lining” perhaps being the obvious highpoint. When I first put “Ruins” on I thought “yaaaawwwwwnnnn!” took it off and left it unplayed for about a week. It just seemed like more of the same and I was bored of it. After further listens however, there’s a bit more to it than “Stay Gold”.

“It’s A Shame” is an obvious stand out, possessing a certain earworminess. “Postcard” has an authentic country twang, sounding like one of the more palatable classic country hits of yore and “Fireworks” is beginning to grab me with its lilting melody and melancholic tone. Closing track, “Nothing Has To Be True” has an epic feel to it and ends with a bit of subversive noise, kinda like The Flaming Lips and Jim O’Rourke have done in the past, but not quite to the same extent.

All in all, I think that this is a better album than “Stay Gold”. If you need to re-endear yourself to them after all this time, there is footage on YouTube of them playing Black Sabbath’s “War Pigs”.

Addendum: Listening to this on iTunes whilst reviewing it, it has finished and run into “Stay Gold”, which, two tracks in is sounding better than I remembered. Alas! Fickle old me.

8/10 Customer rating (no review), 1st February 2018
7/10 Customer rating (no review), 1st February 2018
10/10 Customer rating (no review), 30th January 2018



When it comes to vinyl we're confident we can match any price. Read more.



Return unused items within 45 days for a replacement or refund. Read more.


We take care when packing your vinyl, but if anything does go wrong we will fix it. Read more.

Customer feedback

We're proud of the feedback we get from our customers. Read more.

7754 reviews


What the artist or label has to say for themselves. Read more.


Your email address will not be abused or shared.