Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

  • Wichita / WEBB515T
  • Add Scent to your favourites
  • Add Wichita to your favourites
1 review »

Scent are a three-piece from London who play what I can only describe as semi-ethereal indie-pop. Kim EP is their debut single. The band are keen to throw people like me, who try to tell the general public about them, off their scent (no pun intended) with weird and incomprehensible press releases. Anyway, they’re new to Wichita Recordings and they have a pretty good track record of signing successful bands, so why not give 'em a go? One sided 12" single, limited to 300 copies.

  • 12" £9.49
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 95 ?
  • WEBB515T / Limited single-sided, white label 12" EP on Wichita. Edition of 300 copies with sleeves each individually decorated by the band's fair hands in the bowels of their Steamy Trails base
  • Only 3 copies left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


KIM EP by Scent
1 review. Add your own review.
1 person loves this record. Be the 2nd!
7/10 Clinton Staff review, 16 November 2017

The only bit of Scent's press release that makes any sense is that they were signed to Wichita via an unsolicited demo. I'd refuse to believe this (though they say they have email proof so I'm going to have to take their word). So what made Wichita do the unbelievable and sign a band without a billion managers and agents doing the networking? Not at all sure as there's no immediate brilliance as such on show but it is very unusual and unique.

Opener 'Kim' starts slowly as if they are going to be a Low type proposition before lurching in a funkier middle section with busy strummed guitars before again dropping down into a somewhat gorgeous end section which stars finger picked guitars and cascading vocals. The song is in three parts and follows the Alt J template of song structure in that the structures don't make any kind of literal sense. 

Throughout the first track I've been thinking of four little letters and numerals which on 'Life Coach' come bursting out the stereo and that is 10CC. The band have a similar playful aesthetic to both their compositions and the way they sonically manipulate them. The songs have a 'I'm Not In Love' drift and the inability to sit still for a bloody second. 

So yeah, promising this. I was wrong when I said Alt J were too busy and complex for mainstream acceptance so I'd watch this carefully. Their songs have good codas. Wichita could be onto something.   


There is a video clip for this item, but you need to accept our functional cookies to see it. Sorry!



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.