Reasons to shop with us » 0113 245 4399

1 review »

Inbetween tireless runs of self-released recordings, Matt Christensen bags his first vinyl deal since since Honeymoons last year. Coming through Belgium’s Morc Records this time, I Know What The Fight Is sees the Zelienople member in a particularly slow and calm mood. Trickling guitar, whispered electronics and Christensen’s characteristic murmured voice are the main ingredients in this heartfelt, noirish and slowcore blend of Americana and ambient.

  • LP £16.99
  • In stock / Ships in 1 working day ?
  • Shipping cost: £3.15 ?
  • NormanPoints: 170 ?
  • / Limited transparent vinyl LP on Morc. Edition of 110 copies in screen printed sleeve
  • Includes download code
  • Only 1 copy left

This item is in stock and can be dispatched immediately.


I know What The Fight Is by Matt Christensen 1 review. Add your own review. 8/10
4 people love this record. Be the 5th!

8/10 Staff review, 19 October 2017

Matt Christensen’s first vinyl effort in a while is an exercise in lounge sabotage, offering a slowcore spread of distantly and inappropriately arranged sounds. With chords echoing out into distant spaces, drums playing a rhythm of their own mind, keys sprinkling where they’ll sprinkle and gorgeous, irreverently jazzy basslines, this record feels like about five different chill records accidentally combining forces.

Think Talk Talk hanging out with the Necks in stony silence and this record comes close. Christensen’s stern but absent-minded vocal performance makes him sound like he’s working his way through one long sentence, the whole record, thinking aloud around a medley of jazz and lightly discordant noise. You could put this thing on for a quiet evening but the room might erupt around you -- with these sleepy tensions, it really could go either way.



Get alerted to new stock from this artist / label.

Your email address will not be abused or shared.